Kevin Ayers Turn the Lights Down (Live)

Turn the Lights Down (Live)
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  F4SA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: BGO (Beat Goes On) (UK)


  • Buy for $0.991.There Goes Johnny
  • Buy for $0.992.See You Later
  • Buy for $0.993.Didn't Feel Lonely Till I Thought of You
  • Buy for $0.994.When Your Parents Go To Sleep
  • Buy for $0.995.Lady Rachel
  • Buy for $0.996.Super Salesman
  • Buy for $0.997.Am I Really Marcel?
  • Buy for $0.998.Everybody's Sometime And Some People's All The Time Blues
  • Buy for $0.999.Beware of the Dog II
  • Buy for $0.9910.Ballad of Mr. Snake
  • Buy for $0.9911.May I?
  • Buy for $0.9912.Why Are We Sleeping?
  • Buy for $0.9913.Stranger In Blue Suede Shoes

Product Description:

Kevin Ayers (vocals, guitar).
The Wizards of Twiddly: Carl Bowry (guitar, background vocals); Simon James (flute, tenor saxophone, keyboards, background vocals); Martin Smith (trumpet, horn, background vocals); Andy Frizell (bass, background vocals); Andy Delamere (drums, background vocals).
Recorded live at Waterman's Arts Centre, West London, England on March 10 1995. Includes liner notes by Martin Wakeling.
Personnel: Kevin Ayers (vocals, guitar); Kevin Ayers; Andrew Frizell (vocals, bass guitar); Andy Delamere (vocals, drums); Carl Bowry (vocals, guitar); Simon James (vocals, flute, tenor saxophone, keyboards); Martin Smith (vocals, trumpet, horns); Wizards Of Twiddly.
Audio Remasterer: Martin Mitchell.
Liner Note Author: Martin Wakeling.
Recording information: Waterman's Arts Centre, West London (03/10/1995).
Pleased with the success of a previous casual collaboration, when his opening act The Wizards of Twiddly had joined him onstage for a couple of numbers, Kevin Ayers started touring with the band intermittently for a year. TURN THE LIGHTS DOWN! captures one of these dates, at the Waterman's Arts Centre in London, for posterity.
Guitarist Carl Bowry and his colleagues lend an added dimension to such Ayers favorites as "Didn't Feel Lonely 'Till I Thought of You," "Lady Rachel," and "Why Are We Sleeping?" The two-piece brass section gives "Am I Really Marcel?" and "May I?" a decidedly woozy Salvation Army feel. Crank up the volume, and LIGHTS serves as a creative highlight of Ayers' low-profile '90s career.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Kevin Ayers

Product Info

  • UPC: 5019148623427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)