Charlie Monroe I'm Old Kentucky Bound (4-CD Box Set)

I'm Old Kentucky Bound (4-CD Box Set)
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  9Q5D
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: February 5, 2008
  • Label: Bear Family

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.40
"Charlie's high, sweet vocals shine on tunes like 'Rosa Lee McFall'....[A] musical trip back in time revisiting an unsung hero of bluegrass and country music."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Once I Had A Darling Mother
  • 2.No Home, No Place To Pillow My Head
  • 3.Farther Along
  • 4.When The World's On Fire Pt. 2
  • 5.Take Me Back To The Valley
  • 6.Happy Spirit
  • 7.The Great Speckled Bird
  • 8.Tell Him To Come Back Sweet Fern
  • 9.Every Time I Feel
  • 10.You're Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone
  • 11.Oh Death
  • 12.Guided By Love
  • 13.If You See My Saviour
  • 14.From Shore To Shore
  • 15.Is She Praying There?
  • 16.Joy Bells In My Soul
  • 17.Just One Year
  • 18.Black Sheep
  • 19.Who's Calling You Sweetheart Tonight?
  • 20.Rubber Neck Blues
  • 21.There's No Depression In Heaven
  • 22.Mother's Not Dead, She's Only Sleeping

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I'm Comin' Back But I Don't Know When
  • 2.It's Only A Phonograph Record
  • 3.Down In The Willow Garden
  • 4.Bringin' In The Georgia Mail
  • 5.When The Angels Carry Me Home
  • 6.If We Ever Meet Again
  • 7.Campin' In Canaan's Land
  • 8.Don't Forget To Pray
  • 9.The Grave At The Foot Of The Mountain
  • 10.I See A Bright Light Shining
  • 11.End Of Memory Lane
  • 12.Shenandoah Waltz
  • 13.Sweetheart I Love You Best
  • 14.I Know You'll Understand
  • 15.What Became Of That Beautiful Picture
  • 16.Walking With You In My Dreams
  • 17.They Didn't Believe It Was True
  • 18.Time Clock Of Life
  • 19.Red Rocking Chair
  • 20.Without Me Are You Blue
  • 21.Our Mansion Is Ready
  • 22.A Valley Of Peace
  • 23.Rosa Lee Mcfall
  • 24.My Saviour's Train

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Gonna Shake Hands With Mother Over There
  • 2.Gonna Shake Hands With Mother Over There
  • 3.Springtime In Glory
  • 4.So Blue
  • 5.Sugar Cane Mama
  • 6.Down In Caroline
  • 7.I Know He's Been Dealing With Me
  • 8.I Know He's Been Dealing With Me
  • 9.You'd Better Be Somewhere Praying
  • 10.You'll Find Me There
  • 11.'Neath A Cold Gray Tomb Of Stone
  • 12.'Neath A Cold Gray Tomb Of Stone
  • 13.Good Morning To You
  • 14.I'm Gonna Sing, Sing, Sing
  • 15.I'm Gonna Sing, Sing, Sing
  • 16.Gold Star Mother
  • 17.Jesus Is Calling
  • 18.Jesus Is Calling
  • 19.My Lord's Gonna Move This Wicked Race
  • 20.My Lord's Gonna Move This Wicked Race
  • 21.That Wild Black Engine
  • 22.You'll Find Her Name Written There
  • 23.You'll Find Her Name Written There
  • 24.An Angel In Disguise
  • 25.Find 'Em, Fool 'Em And Leave 'Em Alone
  • 26.I'm Old Kentucky Bound
  • 27.These Triflin' Women
  • 28.Why Did You Say Good-Bye?
  • 29.I'm Weary Of Heartaches
  • 30.That's What I Like About You
  • 31.Weep And Cry

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Opening Remarks From Charlie Monroe
  • 2.Penitentiary Blues
  • 3.Patter And Story From Charlie Monroe
  • 4.Why Did You Ever Say Goodbye?
  • 5.Find 'Em, Fool 'Em And Leave 'Em Alone
  • 6.When The Women Get In Power
  • 7.I'm Old Kentucky Bound
  • 8.Down In Caroline
  • 9.Down In The Willow Garden
  • 10.Bill Cheatham
  • 11.I Know You'll Understand
  • 12.Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad
  • 13.I'm Old Kentucky Bound
  • 14.Bile 'Em Cabbage Down
  • 15.Good Morning To You
  • 16.Hop Along Peter
  • 17.Ain't Nobody Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone
  • 18.Orange Blossom Special
  • 19.I'll Thank The Friends Who Prayed For Me
  • 20.Penitentiary Blues
  • 21.Lonely Little Robin
  • 22.Shine On Me
  • 23.John Henry
  • 24.Paul And Silas Bound In Jail
  • 25.Rocky Road Blues
  • 26.Bile 'Em Cabbage Down
  • 27.Who's Calling You Sweetheart Tonight?
  • 28.It's Only A Phonograph Record
  • 29.Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad
  • 30.Down In Caroline
  • 31.(I'm Gonna) Sing, Sing, Sing

Product Description:

While history has virtually ignored Charlie Monroe in light of his brother Bill's seismic accomplishments, this comprehensive box set reveals a career deserving of serious respect in its own right. I'M OLD KENTUCKY BOUND: HIS RECORDINGS 1938-1956 covers practically everything in the Charlie Monroe solo catalog including his entire stints on RCA Victor, Bluebird, and Decca in a beautifully packaged four-disc set that is accompanied by an informative 60-page booklet. A must-have for the Bluegrass completist and for fans of rootsy WWII-era entertainment.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Charlie Monroe

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051680824
  • Shipping Weight: 2.42/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)