Freddie Hart Juke Joint Boogie

Juke Joint Boogie
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  9Q44
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: November 16, 2004
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Juke Joint Boogie
  • 2.Whole Hog or None
  • 3.Loose Talk
  • 4.From Canada to Tennessee
  • 5.Please Don't Tell Her
  • 6.Heart Trouble
  • 7.Caught at Last
  • 8.Snatch It and Grab It
  • 9.Dig Boy Dig
  • 10.Drink Up and Go Home
  • 11.Extra!
  • 12.On the Prowl
  • 13.Dance and Sing
  • 14.Blue
  • 15.Baby Don't Leave
  • 16.Heaven Only Knows
  • 17.Say No More
  • 18.From a Boy to a Man
  • 19.Loving in Vain
  • 20.I'm No Angel
  • 21.Farther Than My Eyes Can See
  • 22.I'm Gonna Live for Today
  • 23.Chain Gang
  • 24.Mr. Fool
  • 25.The Key's in the Mailbox
  • 26.My Last Dime
  • 27.Careful
  • 28.Do My Heart a Favor
  • 29.Lyin' Again
  • 30.Some Do, Some Don't, Some Will, Some Won't
  • 31.Heart Attack
  • 32.Midnight Date
  • 33.The Wall

Product Description:

Personnel: Freddie Hart (vocals, guitar); Neil Kenneth Levang, Grady Martin, Kenneth R Baker, Harold Bradley, Walter L. "Hank Sugarfoot" Garland, Ivy J. "Jimmy" Bryant, Ray Edenton, Wesley Tuttle, Billy Gray, Merle Travis, James Rogers (guitar); Wayma "Pee Wee" Whitewing, Johnny Sibert, Wayne Burdick, Charles Eugene ONeal, Jimmy Day (steel guitar); Thomas Lee Jackson Jr., Harold Hensley, Bobby Bruce (fiddle); Hargus "Pig" Robbins (piano, organ); William A. Wardle, Floyd Cramer, Marvin H. Hughes, Gil Baca, Edwin Carver (piano); Douglas Kirkham, William Paul Ackerman, Marion Z. "Pee Wee" Adams, Milton Curtis "Muddy" Berry, Buddy Harman (drums).
Liner Note Author: Deke Dickerson.
Recording information: Bradley Flim & Recording Stuido, Nashville, TN (06/08/1953-07/25/1961); Capitol Recording Studio, Hollywood, CA (06/08/1953-07/25/1961); Radio Recorders, Hollywood 38, CA (06/08/1953-07/25/1961).
Illustrators: Freddie Hart; R.A. Andreas.
Photographers: Freddie Hart; R.A. Andreas.
Many fans of Freddie Hart's sexy '70s love songs may not realize that his recording career began way back in 1953 when he was an aspiring honky-tonker and songwriter. Juke Joint Boogie is a 33-track anthology that looks at the early years of Hart's career when he recorded with producers Ken Nelson and Don Law at Capitol and Columbia Records, cutting straight country as well as hybridized songs intended to catch some of the pop market. Juke Joint Boogie offers an extended but incomplete survey of Hart's recordings from 1953-61, omitting dozens of tracks in spite of its generous program. The selections that are included seem to favor previously unreleased recordings and rock & roll-influenced cuts, although some of Hart's rock-oriented recordings from the era were omitted. One of his Top 40 Columbia hits ("What a Laugh!") was also left off. What remains are boogies (the title track), Ray Price-style shuffles ("The Key's in the Mailbox"), pop-oriented experiments ("Dance and Sing"), and straight-up rockabilly. Hart made a lonely pair of rockabilly recordings -- "Snatch It and Grab It" and "Dig Boy Dig" -- that he disavows despite their excellence. The prison songs "Chain Gang" and "The Wall" were Hart's first hits, and his recording of "Loose Talk," which he wrote, was covered by Carl Smith to become a number one country hit. Ken Nelson and Don Law let Hart try out a range of styles, which means that there is plenty of variety on this long set of music. Hart's early recordings have been out of print for decades, so Juke Joint Boogie is an overdue look at the formative years of one of the biggest country stars of the '70s. ~ Greg Adams

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Freddie Hart

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051672720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)