Sonny James Sonny Rocks

Sonny Rocks
1 rating
Only 9 copies left
Sale: $23.39
SUPER SAVINGS: $16.31 Limited Time Only
List Price: $25.99
You Save: $9.68 (37% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  33RC2
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 25, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Young Love
  • 2.For Rent (One Empty Heart)
  • 3.The Cat Came Back
  • 4.You're the Reason I'm in Love
  • 5.I Can't Stop Loving You
  • 6.Uh-Huh-MM
  • 7.Twenty Feet of Muddy Water
  • 8.A Mightly Loveable Man
  • 9.How's the World Treating You
  • 10.First Date, First Kiss, First Love
  • 11.Baby You Melt My Heart
  • 12.Kathaleen
  • 13.Are You Mine
  • 14.Let's Play Love
  • 15.Climb Up the Ladder of Love
  • 16.Just Ask Your Heart
  • 17.Can't Get over Missing You
  • 18.I Can See It in Your Eyes
  • 19.I'm Makin' Time with You
  • 20.Let's Go Bunny Huggin'
  • 21.You Don't Hurt Me Any More
  • 22.Sweet Thing
  • 23.Let's Make Up
  • 24.Yo-Yo
  • 25.Love Me Like I Am
  • 26.Talk of the School
  • 27.Let Me Be the One to Love You
  • 28.This Love of Mine
  • 29.Pure Love
  • 30.Apache
  • 31.Innocent Angel
  • 32.The Day's Not Over Yet
  • 33.Just One More Lie
  • 34.Young Love - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Sonny James (vocals, guitar); Neal Jones, Ray C. Walker, Rick Cartey (vocals); Chet Atkins, Velma E. Williams Smith, Robert F. Bain, Herman Wade, Grady Martin, Hank Garland, Howard Leslie Heitmeyer (guitar); Harold Bradley (tenor banjo); Paul Buskirk (electric mandolin); Lillian Hunt, Howard Carpenter, Solie Fott, Brenton Banks (violin); Buddy Brady (fiddle); Danny Gould, Floyd Cramer, William Simmons, Ray Sherman, Hargus "Pig" Robbins (piano); Marion Z. "Pee Wee" Adams, Irving Kluger, Raymond D. Martinez, William F. Pecchi, Morris Palmer, Roy Harte (drums); Frank Joseph Flynn (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Dave Samuelson.
Recording information: Atlanta, GA (05/19/1955-??/??/1962); Bradley Film & Recording Studio, Nashville, TN (05/19/1955-??/??/1962); Capitol Recording Studio, Hollywood, CA (05/19/1955-??/??/1962); Jim Beck Studio, Dallas, TX (05/19/1955-??/??/1962); Los Angeles, CA (05/19/1955-??/??/1962); Nashville, TN (05/19/1955-??/??/1962); RCA Victor Studio, Nashville, TN (05/19/1955-??/??/1962).
Illustrators: Les Leverett; R.A. Andreas.
Photographers: Les Leverett; R.A. Andreas.
Arranger: Robert F. Bain.
Sonny Rocks, a 34-cut Sonny James compilation, is yet another volume in the small but growing Bear Family Rocks series. The label takes established country performers -- legends, in fact -- and goes back to their earliest material since so many, from Wanda Jackson and Conway Twitty to Marty Robbins and Connie Frances, got their start singing rockabilly and other teen hits from the primeval rock & roll days. James is no different, though he did tend to stay closer to his traditional country boogie roots. He was, in fact, a country crooner who happened upon the rawer beat of rock and combined the two. He was also a terrific songwriter with cuts like "The Cat Came Home," "Heart for Rent," "Innocent Angel," and "Love Me Like I Am." This one is solid from top to bottom. ~ Thom Jurek
Bear Family Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Sonny James

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 29,218
  • UPC: 4000127166791
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)