Sebadoh Bakesale [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)

Bakesale [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)
28 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  AC3F
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 14, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Sub Pop

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.106
4 stars out of 5 -- "Barlow's new approach made for one of the best indie-rock albums in a year full of stellar ones -- and Sebadoh's greatest work."
Rolling Stone - 12/1/94, p.126
3 Stars - Good - "...Sebadoh are Lou Barlow's Velvet Underground, wrapping his confessions in fuzz, hiss and distortion and setting them alongside complementary songs by bandmates....Individual songs offer slightly different perspectives..."
Spin - p.80
"BAKESALE was the catchy, coherent 1994 breakthrough -- a missing link between Nick Drake and Sonic Youth."
Spin - 12/94, p.78
Ranked #16 in Spin's list of the '20 Best Albums Of '94' - "...Sebadoh's cleanest, most pro recording to date..."
Spin - 9/94, p.136
Highly Recommended - "...a consistent, even professional pop-rock record....Like the young Elvis Costello, he flirts with emotional fascism twisting love-song cliches into clever negations..."
Q - 11/94, p.124
4 Stars - Excellent - "...The tone is conversational, the choice of words precise, yet natural. Sebadoh may have arrived at a potentially very popular midpoint between R.E.M. and Nirvana..."
Alternative Press - 10/94, p.95
"...Sebadoh continue their streak of winners on BAKESALE, an album brimming with edgy, off-kilter pop....It's that self-aware wink that keeps so much self-doubt from becoming grating....There's really not a bad song on here..."
Musician - 8/94, p.85
"...the overall effect is lightly, pleasantly numbing. Which is part of their appeal, one suspects..."
Village Voice (2/28/95) - Ranked #20 in the Village Voice's 1994 Pazz & Jop Critics Poll.
Mojo (Publisher) - 1/95, p.53
Included in Mojo's "25 Best Albums of 1994" - "...their most consistent long-player yet with brisk, riffing nuggets....Sebadoh are surely poised for greatness."
NME (Magazine) - 12/24/94, p.23
Ranked #27 in NME's list of the 'Top 50 Albums Of 1994.'
NME (Magazine) - 8/27/94, p.39
"...Set alongside Barlow's fearless lyrics, quality control is no longer an issue for this band..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.96
3 stars out of 5 -- "[E]asily their most accessible....There are certainly moments of aggressive clarity here..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.License to Confuse
  • 2.Careful
  • 3.Magnet's Coil
  • 4.Not a Friend
  • 5.Not Too Amused
  • 6.Dreams
  • 7.Skull
  • 8.Got It
  • 9.Shit Soup
  • 10.Give Up
  • 11.Rebound
  • 12.Mystery Man
  • 13.Temptation Tide
  • 14.Drama Mine
  • 15.Together or Alone

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Mor Backlash
  • 2.Not a Friend
  • 3.Foreground
  • 4.40203
  • 5.Mystery Man
  • 6.Drumstick Jumble
  • 7.Lime Kiln
  • 8.Fancy Ass / Destitute
  • 9.Perfect Way
  • 10.Give the Drummer Some
  • 11.Cementville
  • 12.Social Medicine
  • 13.On Fire [Acoustic]
  • 14.Magnet's Coil [Acoustic]
  • 15.Rebound [Acoustic]
  • 16.Punching Myself in the Face Repeatedly, Publicly
  • 17.Sing Something / Plate of Hatred
  • 18.III Screams - (remix)
  • 19.Monsoon
  • 20.Rainbow Farm
  • 21.Hank Williams
  • 22.Careful
  • 23.Drama Mine
  • 24.Not Too Amused
  • 25.Shit Soup

Product Description:

Sebadoh: Lou Barlow (vocals, guitar, organ); Jason Loewenstein (vocals, guitar, bass); Bob Fay (vocals, drums).
Additional personnel: Anne Slinn (vocals, organ); Eric Gaffney, Tara Jane O'Neil (drums).
Principally recorded at Fort Apache, Cambridge, Massachusetts.
Personnel: Lou Barlow (vocals, guitar); Jason Loewenstein (vocals); Eric Gaffney, Bob Fay (drums).
Audio Mixer: Tim O'Heir.
Liner Note Authors: Mike Flood; Jason Loewenstein; Lou Barlow.
Recording information: Chicago, IL; Fort Apache; Newbury Sound.
Photographers: Mike Flood; Mom Barlow; Mikala Taylor; Judith Flood.
Sebadoh started out as the hobby of two guys hanging out in a dorm room with a four-track cassette machine and some weed, but by 1994, Lou Barlow's side project had matured into a real rock band, and on Bakesale, they sounded more like one than ever before. With Eric Gaffney gone, the spotlight was firmly on Barlow and his songs, and he stepped out with some of his best work to date; the navel-gazing confessions of "Not a Friend" and "Dreams" were more articulate and deeply felt than his previous efforts, and there's an edgy grace in his melodies, while he brings some scrappy but committed rock & roll guitar bashing to "License to Confuse" and "Magnet's Coil." Bassist Jason Loewenstein's tunes aren't as strong overall as Barlow's, but they're effective in context, and their minor-key twists and turns complement his bandmate's work very well. And though Sebadoh had clearly learned a lot from their years of lo-fi woodshedding, on Bakesale they were working in genuine recording studios with functioning equipment, and instead of having to struggle to hear the songs through layers of aural murk, here Sebadoh burst forth from the speakers loud and clear. And this version of the band stood up well to scrutiny; Barlow, Loewenstein, and drummer Bob Fay may not have been the tightest band on earth, but they had the energy and the commitment to make these songs work, and the simple, direct, and emotionally naked sound of Bakesale served them well, and the album ranks with the most powerful and accessible music they would ever release. Bakesale confirmed that in both theory and execution, Sebadoh had matured into a great indie rock band, and if their obsession with doomed love and fractured self-worth still seemed adolescent, they had at very least grown from eighth graders to high school seniors, and that's a pretty big leap if you're willing to look back on it. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Sebadoh

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 114,770
  • UPC: 098787094428
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)