Godflesh Streetcleaner (2-CD)

Streetcleaner (2-CD)
10% OFF
Rating 4.4
7 ratings
List Price: $15.98
Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  67872
on most orders of $50+
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

Top ranking titles in the Heavy Metal genre:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Earache Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 1/25/91
"...dispenses with standard headbanger rhythms in favor of an industrial-noise collage...Sounding like a visit to an out-of-control crackhouse that sits next to a train station, STREETCLEANER should make Stephen King think twice about calling the comparatively tame AC/DC his favorite band..." - Rating: B+
Alternative Press - 7/95, p.84
Ranked #34 in AP's list of the 'Top 99 Of '85-'95' - "...The drum-machine tempos [are] lugubriously slow, and the claustrophobic density of the guitars coupled with searing harmonics redefine all the boundaries of what constitutes metal, industrial or just plain anathema noise....A disturbing, unsettling benchmark of true stylists..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Like Rats
  • 2.Christbait Rising
  • 3.Pulp
  • 4.Dream Long Dead
  • 5.Head Dirt
  • 6.Devastator / Mighty Trust Krusher
  • 7.Life Is Easy
  • 8.Streetcleaner
  • 9.Locust Furnace
  • 10.Tiny Tears
  • 11.Wound
  • 12.Dead Head
  • 13.Suction

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Like Rats [Original Unreleased Mix]
  • 2.Christbait Rising [Original Unreleased Mix]
  • 3.Pulp [Original Unreleased Mix]
  • 4.Dream Long Dead [Original Unreleased Mix]
  • 5.Head Dirt [Original Unreleased Mix]
  • 6.Streetcleaner [Live Geneva Early 1990]
  • 7.Head Dirt [Live Geneva Early 1990]
  • 8.Pulp [Rehearsal May 1989]
  • 9.Dream Long Dead [Rehearsal April 1989]
  • 10.Christbait Rising [Rehearsal April 1989]
  • 11.Deadhead [Original Demo Guitar & Machine 1988]
  • 12.Suction [Original Demo Guitar & Machine 1988]

Product Description:

Godflesh: Justin Broadrick (vocals, guitar); Paul Neville (guitar); G. Christian Green (bass).
Recorded at Soundcheck, Birmingham, England from May to August 1989, and Square Dance, Derby, England in May 1989.
Personnel: Justin Broadrick (vocals, guitar); Paul Neville (guitar).
Audio Remasterer: Justin Broadrick.
Liner Note Authors: Jonathan Selzer; Justin Broadrick.
Recording information: Soundcheck, Birmingham (05/1989); Square Dance, Derby (05/1989); Soundcheck, Birmingham (05/1989-08/1989); Square Dance, Derby (05/1989-08/1989).
Godflesh's first full album built on the strengths of their self-titled EP and then some, resulting in one of the darkest, best classics of grindcore (admittedly a label Broadrick himself always hated). Of course, in comparison to the nuclear-strength, hyperspeed thrash Broadrick initially found himself associated with thanks to Napalm Death, Streetcleaner doesn't so much grind as crawl, but it does with an awesome, bass-heavy power that feels like doom piled on top of further doom. Assisted with further guitar at points by past bandmate Paul Neville, Broadrick and Green simply explode with utter virulence, musically and lyrically. The song titles again evoke images of mechanistic destruction and organic decay, while Broadrick's roared words, when audible, contain such user-unfriendly lines like "Breed...like rats!" and "Don't hold me back, this is my own hell!" And these from the first two songs alone, the latter of which, one of the band's best numbers, has the title "Christbait Rising." Compared to so many metal wimps who invoke Satan and death in the cheesiest of ways, though, Godflesh let their own brusque impact do the talking for them, and the result is suitably apocalyptic. Drum machines shatter, shudder, and downright assault, while the riffs the two (or three) cook up are bludgeoning, well worthy of Broadrick's partial inspirations the Swans, arguably the best comparable forebear if one is talking about albums like Cop or Young God. The secret to the success of the album is the arrangements -- the songs themselves are almost deceptively simple, but the band deliver everything with a pinpoint precision, bursting out of the speakers and suddenly cut off when needed. As an interesting bonus, the CD version contains four tracks originally recorded for an EP but never formally released as such, including the planned title song "Tiny Tears," and "Wound," later re-recorded and remixed for other releases. ~ Ned Raggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Godflesh

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 130,988
  • UPC: 745316150123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)