Janette Carter Deliverance Will Come

Deliverance Will Come
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  QRDH
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Imports

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - pp.83-85
"Whether she's singing the songs her parents made famous, other old standards, or her own compositions, Janette scores consistently."


  • 1.Bury Me Beneath the Willow
  • 2.Lonesome Street
  • 3.Listen to the Mockingbird
  • 4.I Ain't Gonna Work Tomorrow
  • 5.Sinking in the Lonesome Sea
  • 6.I Found Jesus
  • 7.Storms Are on the Ocean
  • 8.'Neath the Shade of a Beautiful Pine
  • 9.Red Wing Instrumental
  • 10.Little Moses
  • 11.In the Shadow of Clinch Mountain
  • 12.Joy, Joy, Joy
  • 13.Howdayado!
  • 14.Little Rosewood Casket
  • 15.Wayworn Traveller
  • 16.Take-Me-Back Blues
  • 17.Johnny Doesn't Live Here Anymore
  • 18.Waltz, Kitty, Waltz
  • 19.Lonesome Pine Special
  • 20.Give Him One More as He Goes
  • 21.Heartbreaking Waltz
  • 22.Dark and Stormy Weather
  • 23.My Native Home
  • 24.Little Moses
  • 25.Kissin' Is a Crime
  • 26.My Dixie Darling
  • 27.Sea of Galilee
  • 28.I'm Leaving You
  • 29.I'm Missing You
  • 30.Johnny Doesn't Live Here Anymore
  • 31.The Storms Are on the Ocean

Product Description:

Bear Family, the respected reissue label from Germany, continues its deep mine of the Carter Family archives with this issue by A.P. and Sara Carter's youngest daughter, Janette. Along with older brother Joe, she runs the Carter Family Fold in Hiltons, VA, in the shadow of Clinch Mountain. Janette and her brother are the caretakers of the family legacy. The 31 cuts on this set contain two complete albums, Storms Are on the Ocean, originally recorded in 1972 for the tiny Birch Records label from Willamette, IL, and 1973's Howdayadoo, released on the Crosby, TN, Traditional imprint. The rest include A.P.'s "Storms Are on the Ocean," recorded for Blue Jay in 1968, a pair of live cuts issued on a Traditional collection, and two tracks from 2001, including the original "Johnny Doesn't Live Here Anymore." The remastering is excellent and the material is simply fantastic. It's a mix of Carter songs and traditional folk tunes that the Carters either did record or would have been comfortable doing so. Janette accompanies herself on autoharp on all these tracks, and has a minimal host of players -- mostly uncredited -- on others. The running time is 73 minutes and change, and the entire thing is deeply moving, plaintive, and full of emotion as well as history. Highly recommended. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Janette Carter

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051633523
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)