Alex Harvey & His Soulband Alex Harvey and His Soul Band [Bear Family]

Alex Harvey and His Soul Band [Bear Family]
10% OFF
List Price: $32.99
Your Price: $29.69
You Save: $3.30 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  E8X6
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: June 11, 1999
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.The Liverpool Scene
  • 2.Shout
  • 3.What's Wrong With Me Baby?
  • 4.Reelin' & Rockin'
  • 5.The Canoe Song
  • 6.The Little Boy That Santa Claus Forgot
  • 7.Hoochie Coochie Man
  • 8.Long Long Gone
  • 9.My Kind of Lovin'
  • 10.Outskirts of Town
  • 11.Parchman Farm
  • 12.Penicillin Blues
  • 13.Shakin' All Over
  • 14.Sticks and Stones
  • 15.Take Out Some Insurance on Me, Baby
  • 16.Ten a Penny
  • 17.Tutti Frutti
  • 18.You Ain't No Good to Me
  • 19.You Are My Sunshine
  • 20.You've Put a Spell on Me

Product Description:

Contains 20 songs.
Confusingly, this collection of very early Alex Harvey material is entirely different (with the exception of the track "Reelin' and Rockin'") from the album that's also titled Alex Harvey and His Soul Band on Polydor. The 1964 Polydor Alex Harvey and His Soul Band was, with the exception of "Reelin' and Rockin'," a live recording; this identically titled anthology, though recorded in the same era (1963-1964), is entirely comprised of studio cuts. Although this is second-division early British R&B, it's a very worthy compilation of an engaging performer who wasn't too original, and not the greatest singer in the world, but possessed of contagious enthusiasm. All but three of the songs were previously unreleased -- 14 of the 20, in fact, were cut at a single session in August 1964, and could be said to be the lost early Alex Harvey album. The Soul Band (personnel unlisted, unfortunately) really bash it out, especially the drummer, who plays with the kind of reckless abandon you might expect from Viv Prince of the Pretty Things or very early Keith Moon. In addition to some frantic covers of familiar material like "Hoochie Coochie Man" and "Parchman Farm," Harvey also offers some quite competent R&B/rockers in the same style. The cover of "Shakin' All Over" is gloriously wild, and he builds up a good head of steam on "Sticks and Stones" too. The "soul" element, perhaps, is provided by the wailing sax, which makes this a bit different than many similar British R&B combos of the period, although there's some rave-up guitar and harmonica as well. There's also a curious brace of songs seemingly intended as a sellout commercial single: the calypso-ish "The Canoe Song" and the execrable weepie "The Little Boy That Santa Claus Forgot." ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Alex Harvey & His Soulband

Product Info:

  • UPC: 790051630225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item