Duane Eddy Deep In The Heart Of Twangsville: The RCA Years - 1962-1964 (6-CD Box Set)

Deep In The Heart Of Twangsville: The RCA Years -
Price: $162.89
List Price: $180.99
You Save: $18.10 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (6 Discs)
sku:  QRC4
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 6
  • Released: October 8, 1999
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Walkin' 'N' Twistin'
  • 2.Sugartime Twist
  • 3.Twistin' 'N' Twangin'
  • 4.Country Twist
  • 5.The Twist
  • 6.Let's Twist Again
  • 7.Peppermint Twist
  • 8.Miss Twist
  • 9.Dear Lady Twist
  • 10.Moanin' 'N' Twistin'
  • 11.Twistin' Off a Cliff
  • 12.Exactly Like You
  • 13.Deep in the Heart of Texas
  • 14.Saints and Sinners
  • 15.High Noon
  • 16.Angel on My Shoulder
  • 17.Love Me Tender
  • 18.Secret Love
  • 19.Mirriam
  • 20.Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain
  • 21.Unchained Melody
  • 22.Bali Ha'i
  • 23.When I Fall in Love
  • 24.Moon River
  • 25.Hi Lili, Hi Lo
  • 26.Memories of Madrid
  • 27.Born to Be With You

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Wild Westerners
  • 2.The Ballad of Paladin
  • 3.Wild Westerners, The - (Film Soundtrack)
  • 4.Stretchin' Out
  • 5.Guitar Man, (Dance With the)
  • 6.Lonely Boy, Lonely Guitar
  • 7.Twangsville
  • 8.Limbo Rock
  • 9.Creamy Mashed Potatoes
  • 10.The Climb
  • 11.Wild Watusi
  • 12.New Hully Gully
  • 13.The Scrape
  • 14.Loco-Locomotion
  • 15.Spanish Twist
  • 16.Spanish Twist
  • 17.The Last Dance
  • 18.Nashville Stomp
  • 19.Waltz of the Wind
  • 20.Popeye
  • 21.Boss Guitar
  • 22.The Desert Rat
  • 23.Song of the Islands - (previously unreleased)
  • 24.Now Is the Hour - (previously unreleased)
  • 25.Sweet Leilani - (previously unreleased)
  • 26.Aloha Oe - (previously unreleased)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Sugar Foot Rag
  • 2.Weary Blues (From Waiting)
  • 3.Please Help Me I'm Falling
  • 4.Wildwood Flower
  • 5.Precious Memories
  • 6.Crazy Arms
  • 7.Have You Ever Been Lonely
  • 8.The Window up Above
  • 9.A Satisfied Mind
  • 10.Making Believe
  • 11.Peace in the Valley
  • 12.Fireball Mail
  • 13.Joshin'
  • 14.Soul Twist
  • 15.Soldier Boy
  • 16.He's So Fine
  • 17.Walk Right In
  • 18.Mr. Guitar Man
  • 19.Guitar Child
  • 20.All You Gave to Me
  • 21.Guitar'd and Feathered
  • 22.My Baby Plays the Same Old Song on His Guitar
  • 23.Beach Bound
  • 24.Blowin' up a Storm
  • 25.Your Baby's Gone Surfin'
  • 26.Giddy Goose

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.The Son of Rebel Rouser
  • 2.Dancin' in the Subway - (previously unreleased)
  • 3.Spiritual - (previously unreleased)
  • 4.Shuckin'
  • 5.I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  • 6.My Destiny
  • 7.A Home in the Meadow
  • 8.Along Came Linda
  • 9.Summer Kiss
  • 10.Danny Boy
  • 11.Annie Laurie
  • 12.The Story of Three Lovers
  • 13.Gunsmoke
  • 14.Long Lonely Days of Winter
  • 15.Cryin' Happy Tears
  • 16.Sunday Morning Rain
  • 17.Theme From a Summer Place
  • 18.Our Day Will Come
  • 19.Someday the Rainbow
  • 20.Shenandoah - (Pre Take Chat)
  • 21.Shenandoah
  • 22.The Feud
  • 23.Jerky Jalopy
  • 24.Shuckin'

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.The Wake Ballet
  • 2.Water Skiing
  • 3.Slalom
  • 4.In Gear
  • 5.Jumping the Wake
  • 6.Ski Jump - (previously unreleased)
  • 7.Whip Off
  • 8.Deep Water Start
  • 9.Toe-Hold Side Slide
  • 10.Banana Peels
  • 11.The Backward Swan
  • 12.Rooster Tail
  • 13.Jitterboard
  • 14.The Iguana
  • 15.Rebel Rouser
  • 16.Raunchy
  • 17.Shangri La
  • 18.Last Date
  • 19.Honky Tonk
  • 20.Tequila
  • 21.Stranger on the Shore
  • 22.More
  • 23.The River Kwai March
  • 24.Swingin' Shepherd Blues
  • 25.Rumble

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.Moon Shot
  • 2.Roughneck
  • 3.Guitar Star
  • 4.Shindig
  • 5.Laughing Guitar
  • 6.The Marauder
  • 7.The High Lonesome
  • 8.Gumshoe Blues
  • 9.The Restless Pack
  • 10.Wish I Were With You
  • 11.Do It
  • 12.Rebel Soul
  • 13.A Fast Friendly Frolic on the Farm
  • 14.Wild Watusi - (take 4)
  • 15.Last Date
  • 16.More
  • 17.Jitterboard - (take 19)
  • 18.Water Skiing
  • 19.Slalom
  • 20.Deep Water Start
  • 21.Ma Dove Andranno (Mr. Guitar Man)
  • 22.Tutta la Notte :: My Baby Plays The Same
  • 23.Non E Posso Piu (Guitar Child)
  • 24.Duane
  • 25.Duane's Stroll
  • 26.The Great Duane
  • 27.Children's Song, A - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Bear Family doesn't do anything without doing it to the point of exhaustion. This six-disc set by Duane Eddy, which covers three years in his career, is a perfect case in point. Here are nine full albums, and over 150 tracks -- some outtakes, demos, and alternates on the final disc (30 new items in all, including an unreleased soundtrack!) -- in deluxe remastered sound. To say that Duane Eddy was popular during this period is a vast understatement. The man was a god and could do no wrong, especially when working with renegade producer Lee Hazelwood. His wild, gimmicky take on the twist, his "Twistin' and Twangin'," where he covered Fats Domino's "I'm Walkin'," and retitled it "Walkin' 'N' Twistin' (I'm Walking)," his own "Twistin' on a Cliff," and a killer cover of Joey Dee's "Peppermint Twist," complete with wild doo wop vocals in the backdrop, are only a sampling of what's here. Eddy also recorded an exotica album of Hawaiian twang, a ton of country classics such as "Crazy Arms," "Blue Eyes Cryin' in the Rain," and a Cajun twang version of A.P. Carter's "Wildwood Flower"! Eddy wrote a ton of material, as well, and his sound is signature even today. RCA Years: 1962-1964 is way more than the casual fan would desire, but for those who collect Eddy's work, the Bear Family set defines his greatest period. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Duane Eddy

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051627126
  • Shipping Weight: 3.83/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)