Joseph Spence Good Morning Mr. Walker

Good Morning Mr. Walker
4 ratings
Price: $17.09
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  E8VH
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 30, 1993
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: Arhoolie Records


  • 1.Out on the Rolling Sea
  • 2.I See Mary and Joseph
  • 3.Oh, How I Love Jesus
  • 4.I Bid You Goodnight
  • 5.Comin' in on a Wing and a Prayer
  • 6.Good Morning Mr. Walker
  • 7.The Glory of Love
  • 8.Don't Let Nobody Burn Down Burma Road
  • 9.Bye and Bye - (previously unreleased)
  • 10.If I Had the Wings of a Dove - (previously unreleased)
  • 11.All Hail the Power of Jesus' Name - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.Don't Take Everybody to Be Your Friend - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Brown Skin Gal - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.Neighbor Gone Home - (previously unreleased)
  • 15.He Walks With Me - (previously unreleased)
  • 16.Will the Serpent Be Unbroken - (previously unreleased)
  • 17.Lord's My Shepherd, The - (previously unreleased)
  • 18.Yellow Bird - (previously unreleased)
  • 19.Sloop John B.
  • 20.Be a Friend to Jesus
  • 21.Mary Ann

Product Description:

Personnel: Joseph Spence (vocals, guitar).
Liner Note Author: Jack Viertel.
Recording information: 05/16/1971.
Photographer: Guy Droussart.
Arranger: Joseph Spence.
With over 60 minutes and 21 tracks, adding ten to the 1972 release, it would be hard to find a much more definitive collection of Bahamian Joseph Spence. Featuring a deep repertoire of folk songs, hymns, sea chanties, children's songs, and pop tunes, Spence's incredibly intricate, polyrhythmic guitar playing rivals that of the American country-blues greats. His vocal technique has to be heard to be believed, as it comes across as a strange combination of an exuberant grunt, a cough, and a laugh, all serving the purpose of accenting the melody carried by the guitar. Doubtless, Spence was an extremely unique and original artist, but it appears that his singing style was probably formed as much from his admitted lack of familiarity with the lyrics of his material as any visionary innovation, as he usually doesn't include much more than a fragment of a verse and a chorus with the rest being vocal improvisation. Still, Good Morning Mr. Walker, also including seven tracks from a live performance, is the perfect showcase for this rare talent. ~ Matt Fink

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Joseph Spence

Product Info

  • UPC: 096297034927
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)