Hank Locklin Send Me the Pillow You Dream On (3-CD Box Set + Book)

Send Me the Pillow You Dream On (3-CD Box Set +
6 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $64.76
List Price: $99.99
You Save: $35.23 (35% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  QR87
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Rio Grande Waltz
  • 2.You've Been Talking in Your Sleep
  • 3.Please Come Back and Stay
  • 4.I've Got a Feeling Somebody's Falling
  • 5.Somebody's Falling
  • 6.I Worship You
  • 7.You've Been Talking in Your Sleep
  • 8.The Same Sweet Girl
  • 9.The Last Look at Mother
  • 10.One More Mistake
  • 11.Knocking at Your Door
  • 12.Born to Ramble
  • 13.I'm Lonely Darling
  • 14.Send Me the Pillow That (You Dream On)
  • 15.Are You Treating Your Neighbor as Yourself
  • 16.Fifty Miles of Elbow Room
  • 17.Crazy Over You
  • 18.Our Love Will Show the Way
  • 19.Tho I've Lost
  • 20.Midnight Tears
  • 21.It's So Hard to Say I Love You
  • 22.The Place and the Time
  • 23.You Burned a Hole in My Heart

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Pinball Millionaire
  • 2.Paper Face
  • 3.Come Share the Sunshine With Me
  • 4.No One Is Sweeter Than You
  • 5.A Year of Time
  • 6.To Whom It May Concern
  • 7.The Song of the Whispering Leaves
  • 8.Won't You Change Your Mind
  • 9.The Holy Train
  • 10.Is There Room For Me
  • 11.Who Is Knocking at My Heart
  • 12.Harvest Is Ripe, The (The Laborers Are Few)
  • 13.I Could Love You Darling
  • 14.Rio Grande Waltz
  • 15.Your House of Love Won't Stand
  • 16.Who Do Yo Think You're Fooling
  • 17.Send Me the Pillow That (You Dream On) 2
  • 18.I Always Lose
  • 19.Stumpy Joe
  • 20.I'm Going to Copyright Your Kisses
  • 21.Down Texas Way
  • 22.Tomorrow's Just Another Day to Cry
  • 23.Tell Me You Love Me
  • 24.Could You

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Picking Sweethearts
  • 2.I Like to Play With Your Kisses
  • 3.Golden Wristwatch
  • 4.Alone at a Table For Two, (Sittin')
  • 5.I Can't Run Away
  • 6.Shadows
  • 7.The Red Rose
  • 8.Lessons in Love
  • 9.Let Me Be the One
  • 10.I'm Tired of Bummin' Around
  • 11.I'll Be Blue till Then
  • 12.In the House of the Lord
  • 13.Mysteries of Life
  • 14.Queen of Hearts
  • 15.Empty Bottles, Empty Heart
  • 16.Who Will It Be
  • 17.Whispering Scandal
  • 18.Baby You Can Count Me In
  • 19.Let Me Confess
  • 20.I'll Always Be Standing By

Product Description:

This triple-CD set is fascinating as well as priceless -- 66 sides cut by Hank Locklin between 1948 and 1954 for Gold Star, Four Star, and Decca. The majority of the tracks here will be new to most listeners, never having been reissued in any form (or in redubbed form) from their original 78 rpm appearances. They present Locklin doing a rougher, harder honky-tonk brand of music, derived from Texas dance-band roots, but different from the Nashville countrypolitan sound with which he achieved lasting fame -- compared to his later, softer material, this stuff rocks. The early Gold Star and Royalty sides come from decent masters, with a certain amount of noise (the bass tends to boom) that is unavoidable, but otherwise they're pretty impressive. Of his early Four Star releases, the most unexpected treats are "Knocking at Your Door," Locklin's theme song in his Texas period, and the heavily Hank Williams-influenced "Born to Ramble." The latter is a revelation, showing Locklin to be a talented yodeler, among other surprises. "Send Me the Pillow That You Dream On" is also here in its original version, a lot less slick than the 1957 hit version off of RCA. Even at this point, Locklin's music was weighted toward ballads, although he interjected bright dance numbers. Disc Two is still honky-tonk-based but slicker, with better players all around. Disc Three opens with Locklin's move to Nashville in 1952, under the aegis of Owen Bradley -- the sound on those first sessions is smooth, almost elegant compared with the Texas-based stuff, and shows Locklin hitting his stride as a singer and bandleader, predating the full bloom of his Nashville period. The music on this disc flows seamlessly into the RCA period covered by the next Bear Family box, and Locklin's better-known RCA sides. ~ Bruce Eder
Bear Family Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Hank Locklin

Product Info

  • UPC: 4000127159533
  • Shipping Weight: 1.72/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)