Jimmie Davis Nobody's Darling But Mine: 1928-1937 (5-CD Box Set)

Nobody's Darling But Mine: 1928-1937 (5-CD Box
1 rating
Price: $134.99
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  KWQ8
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Barroom Message
  • 2.The Baby's Lullaby
  • 3.Out of Town Blues
  • 4.Home Town Blues
  • 5.Settling Down For Life
  • 6.My Dixie Sweetheart
  • 7.You're the Picture of Your Mother
  • 8.Doggone That Train
  • 9.My Louisiana Girl
  • 10.Cowboys Home Sweet Home
  • 11.She's a Hum Dum Dinger
  • 12.Before You Say Farewell - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Where the Old Red River Flows
  • 14.Pentientiary Blues
  • 15.Arabella Blues
  • 16.In Arkansas
  • 17.Lonely Hobo
  • 18.I'll Be Happy Today - (previously unreleased)
  • 19.A Woman's Blues
  • 20.Bear Cat Mama From Horner's Corners
  • 21.My Arkansas Sweetheart
  • 22.Ramona
  • 23.You'd Rather Forget Than Forgive
  • 24.Think of Me Thinking of You
  • 25.Way Out on the Mountain

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Hobo's Warning - (previously unreleased)
  • 2.Wild and Reckless Hobo
  • 3.The Davis Limited
  • 4.She Left a Runnin' Like a Sewing Machine
  • 5.Down at the Old Church - (previously unreleased)
  • 6.She's a Hum Dum Dinger (Part 2)
  • 7.Market House Blues
  • 8.Get on the Board Aunt Susan
  • 9.Midnight Blues
  • 10.There's Evil in Ye Children, Gather 'Round
  • 11.Pea Pickin' Papa
  • 12.I'll Get Mine Bye and Bye
  • 13.Barnyard Stomp
  • 14.I Wonder (If She Is Blue)
  • 15.1982 Blues (Davis Last Day Blues)
  • 16.High Behind Blues
  • 17.Staurday Night Stroll
  • 18.Sewing Machine Blues
  • 19.Red Night Gown Blues
  • 20.Davis' Salty Dog
  • 21.You Can't Tell About the Woman Nowadays
  • 22.The Shotgun Wedding
  • 23.Hold'er, Newt
  • 24.Yo Yo Mama

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Tom Cat and Pussy Blues
  • 2.Organ-Grinder Blues
  • 3.Rockin' Blues - (previously unreleased)
  • 4.Wampus Kitty Mama - (previously unreleased)
  • 5.Bury Me in Old Kentucky
  • 6.Jealous Lover
  • 7.Gambler's Return
  • 8.Home in Caroline
  • 9.It's All Coming Home to You
  • 10.I Wonder If She's Blue
  • 11.When It's Round-up Time in Heaven
  • 12.Would You
  • 13.You've Been Tom Cattin' Around
  • 14.Alimony Blues
  • 15.The Keyhole in the Door
  • 16.Beautiful Texas
  • 17.Triflin' Mama Blues
  • 18.I Want Her Tailor-Made
  • 19.Alimony Blues
  • 20.There Ain't Gonna Be No Afterwhile
  • 21.Easy Rider Blues
  • 22.Nobody's Darlin' But Mine
  • 23.When It's Round-up Time in Heaven
  • 24.Good Time Papa Blues
  • 25.Shirt Tail Blues

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.It's Been Years (Since I've Seen My Mother)
  • 2.Beautiful Mary
  • 3.My Brown Eyed Texas Rose
  • 4.Moonlight and Skies (No. 2)
  • 5.Jelly Roll Blues
  • 6.Graveyard Blues
  • 7.Are You Tired of Me Darling?
  • 8.Red River Blues
  • 9.The Answer to Nobody's Darling But Mine
  • 10.In My Cabin Tonight
  • 11.When a Boy From the Mountains (Weds a Girl)
  • 12.Come on Over to My House (Ain't Nobody Home But Me)
  • 13.Don't Say Goodbye If You Love Me
  • 14.I Wish I Had Never Seen Sunshine
  • 15.High Geared Mama
  • 16.Bed Bug Blues
  • 17.I Ain't Gonna Let Ol' Satan Turn Me 'Round
  • 18.'Twill Be Sweet When We Meet
  • 19.My Blue Bonnet Girl
  • 20.Ridin' Down the Arizona Trail
  • 21.Mama's Getting Hot and Papa's Getting Cold
  • 22.When It's Peach Pickin' Time in Georgia
  • 23.Come on Over to My House (Ain't Nobody Home But Me)

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.That's Why I'm Nobody's Darling
  • 2.Do You Ever Think of Me?
  • 3.Prairie of Love
  • 4.Sweet Lorene
  • 5.Just Forgive and Forget
  • 6.Pal of Long Ago
  • 7.If I Ever Cry You'll Never Know
  • 8.Sweetheart of West Texas
  • 9.Ten Tiny Toes
  • 10.I Wonder Where You Are
  • 11.In the West Where Life Is Free
  • 12.You'll Be Comin' Back Some Day
  • 13.Hard Hearted Mama
  • 14.Jimmie's Travelin' Blues
  • 15.I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now
  • 16.PI-Rootin' Around
  • 17.High Geared Daddy
  • 18.Honky Tonk Blues
  • 19.Nobody's Darling But Mine
  • 20.One, Two, Three, Four
  • 21.Have You Ever Been in Heaven?
  • 22.The Greatest Mistake in My Life
  • 23.Please Be True to Me, (Sweetheart)
  • 24.By the Grave of Nobody's Darling
  • 25.Shackles and Chains
  • 26.Call Me Back Pal O' Mine
  • 27.Just a Girl That Men Forget

Product Description:

Jimmie Davis' music is a strange mix of sentimentality and double-entendre, serious devotional songs juxtaposed with utterly raunchy (and playful) blues and novelty tunes. This five-CD box consists of Davis' sides for Doggone, Victor and American Decca between July 1928 and December 9, 1937. Few performers, especially in pre-war country music, could have juggled the range of repertory here for very long without offending someone and killing a chunk of their careers; instead, Davis used his music to get to the Louisiana governor's mansion twice, once in 1944 and again in 1960. Disc one opens with Davis' earliest sides for Victor in 1929, which were heavily influenced by the work of Jimmie Rodgers. Disc one ends with Davis' four 1928 sides for Doggone. The sides show serious wear and surface noise, but their main drawback is that Davis is trying to sound like Bing Crosby as he covers a quartet of then-contemporary hits. Disc two opens with a trio of hobo songs. In content and delivery, Davis' blues sound uncannily like contemporaries such as Furry Lewis, especially on this session, where most of what follows the hobo material is straight blues or novelty tunes with a risque edge. Disc three opens with a pair of the most sexually explicit songs never to make the cut on any "risque blues" collection. The pairing of pieces like this with sentimental numbers is downright mind-boggling, yet Davis pulled it off. Discs four and five comprise the first three years of his career with Decca Records, which produced his biggest hit of the early '30s, "Nobody's Darlin' but Mine." The booklet isn't as full or detailed as one might wish, and it's sad to know that some session information on these 1920s and '30s numbers is lost to fading memories. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Jimmie Davis

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051594329
  • Shipping Weight: 1.99/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)