The Maddox Brothers & Rose The Most Colorful Hillbilly Band in America (4-CD Box Set)

The Most Colorful Hillbilly Band in America (4-CD
3 ratings
Price: $112.49
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  KWK8
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: March 17, 1998
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I'll Make Sweet Love to You
  • 2.Take These Shackles From My Heart
  • 3.Cocquita of Laredo
  • 4.Wedding Blues
  • 5.Empty Mansions
  • 6.Little Willie Waltz
  • 7.The Hiccough Song
  • 8.Green Grow the Lilacs
  • 9.No Help Wanted
  • 10.Hearts and Flowers
  • 11.Will There Be Any Stars in My Crown
  • 12.Just Over the Stars
  • 13.I'm a Little Red Caboose (On the Choo Choo)
  • 14.These Wasted Years
  • 15.The Nightingale Song
  • 16.I'd Rather Die Young (Than Grow Old Without You)
  • 17.Kiss Me Quick and Go
  • 18.On Mexico's Beautiful Shores
  • 19.I Won't Stand in Your Way
  • 20.A Wooin' We Will Go
  • 21.The Life That You've Led
  • 22.Kiss Me Like Crazy
  • 23.Just One More Time
  • 24.Second Choice

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Beautiful Bouquet
  • 2.A Kiss From Your Lips
  • 3.My Child Has a Billy Goat
  • 4.The Time Is Spring
  • 5.Breathless Love
  • 6.Hasty Baby
  • 7.There's No Right Way to Do Me Wrong
  • 8.The Birthday Card Song
  • 9.You Won't Believe This
  • 10.Forever Yours
  • 11.I Could Never Stop Loving You
  • 12.Fountain of Youth
  • 13.Marry Me Again
  • 14.Poor Little Heartbroken Rose
  • 15.I Wonder If I Can Lose the Blues This Way
  • 16.Waltz of the Pines
  • 17.I've Got Four Big Brothers (To Look After Me)
  • 18.I Gotta Go Get My Baby
  • 19.A Rusty Old Halo
  • 20.No More Time
  • 21.Wild Wild Young Men
  • 22.The Hoot-Owl Melody
  • 23.Was There a Teardrop
  • 24.I'm Gonna Be Loved Tonight

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Words Are So Easy to Say
  • 2.Wild Wind
  • 3.Hummingbird
  • 4.When the Sun Goes Down
  • 5.I'll Find Her
  • 6.It's a Dark, Dark Place
  • 7.Away This Sie of Heaven
  • 8.I Wish You Would
  • 9.Let This Be the Last Time
  • 10.Old Black Choo-Choo
  • 11.Tall Man
  • 12.Hey Little Dreamboat
  • 13.Burrito Joe
  • 14.False Hearted
  • 15.By the Sweat of My Brow
  • 16.Ugly and Slouchy
  • 17.Paul Bunyan Love
  • 18.The Death of Rock 'N Roll
  • 19.Your Sweet, Mean Heart
  • 20.I'll Go Stepping Too
  • 21.Did You Ever Come Home
  • 22.Looky There Over There
  • 23.Let Those Brown Eyes Smile at Me

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Take a Gamble on Me
  • 2.Tomorrow Land
  • 3.Old Man Blues
  • 4.1-2-3-4 Anyplace Road (Somewhere U.S.A.)
  • 5.Love Is Strange
  • 6.The Short Life and Its Troubles
  • 7.My Life With You
  • 8.Dig a Hole
  • 9.Let Me Love You
  • 10.The Donkey Song
  • 11.Stop Whistlin' Wolf
  • 12.The Way With God Is So Beautiful
  • 13.Keep on Talking (Tell Him Everything)
  • 14.Precious Memories
  • 15.I Saw the Light
  • 16.Someone to Care
  • 17.Dear Lord Take My Hand
  • 18.He Leadeth Me
  • 19.Keep on Talking (Tell Him Everything)
  • 20.How Can You Refuse Him Now
  • 21.No One Knows (What Faith Can Do)
  • 22.Take My Hand, Precious Lord
  • 23.Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  • 24.Just Over the Stars
  • 25.Bringing in the Sheaves

Product Description:

Contains 96 tracks.
The Maddox Brothers & Rose belong in that upper echelon of performers whose contributions shaped country music for the ages. The difference is that the Maddox Brothers & Rose have not been inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame, never charted a national hit, and are far from being household names. The artists who credit their influence include Merle Haggard and Dolly Parton, to name only a couple. Their outrageous appearance (they popularized the garish Nudie suits that would later become the uniform of country stars), risqu‚ material, and crazed performances punctuated by brother Cal's maniacal cackle made the group one of the most exciting and innovative acts of its time. They were rockabilly before such a thing existed, and Rose Maddox's brash, assertive style opened up new possibilities for women in country music beyond Patsy Montana's comparatively demure cowgirl image. The Most Colorful Hillbilly Band in America collects on four discs the group's complete Columbia recordings, plus early solo recordings by Rose, the Rosie & Rhetta singles, and a few stunning sides by the Maddox Brothers alone. There are many classic performances, from intense readings of sacred songs to hillbilly rock & roll to wild revisionist covers of current hits. The band's loose, energetic playing and surreal sense of humor make for some of the most awe-inspiring music of its era. This is the first legitimate release of this material on CD, and certainly the most complete anthology of the band's studio recordings ever assembled. Damn the charts -- if you want to know about '50s country, this box set belongs in your collection. ~ Greg Adams

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Maddox Brothers & Rose

Product Info

  • UPC: 4000127158505
  • Shipping Weight: 1.84/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)