Johnny Carroll Rock Baby Rock It: 1955-1960

Rock Baby Rock It: 1955-1960
Rating 4.7
3 ratings
Your Price: $31.49
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  XCSG
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: March 26, 1996
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Hearts of Stone
  • 2.Why Cry
  • 3.Love Is a Merry-Go-Round
  • 4.Stingy Thing
  • 5.Crazy Little Mama
  • 6.Sexy Ways
  • 7.Cut Out
  • 8.You Two-Timed Me Two Times Too Often
  • 9.You Made Me Love You
  • 10.Hot Rock
  • 11.Rock 'N' Roll Ruby
  • 12.Wild Wild Women
  • 13.Corrine, Corrina
  • 14.Crazy, Crazy Lovin'
  • 15.Tryin' to Get to You
  • 16.That's the Way I Love
  • 17.I'll Wait
  • 18.Rock Baby, Rock It
  • 19.You Made Me Love You
  • 20.The Swing
  • 21.Bandstand Doll
  • 22.Sugar
  • 23.Lost Without You
  • 24.Rag Mop
  • 25.Little Otis
  • 26.Trudy
  • 27.Run Come See
  • 28.The Sally Ann
  • 29.Run Come See
  • 30.Crazy Crazy Lovin'
  • 31.Wild Wild Women
  • 32.Rockin' Maybelle
  • 33.Sugar Baby

Product Description:

Johnny Carroll's 1956 recording of "Wild Wild Women," with its lean rockabilly arrangement and exciting vocal performance that owes little debt to Elvis Presley, is one of the greatest early rock & roll singles. Unfortunately, the record wasn't a hit and Carroll bounced from label to label without much success, making a little rockabilly and several Gene Vincent-style rockers along the way. Rock Baby Rock It: 1955-1960 is a complete summary of Carroll's early career, beginning with a generous helping of hot but rough demos made in 1955 and continuing through his complete recordings for Decca, Warner Bros., and Sun Records. The collection wraps up with a novelty single recorded by his backing band, the Spinners; a pair of indie label waxings; and the four songs Carroll performed in the 1957 film Rock, Baby, Rock It. The half-dozen Decca recordings, including "Wild Wild Women," are the essential cuts and have been anthologized elsewhere, but exemplary rockers are scattered throughout the track list. It is a shame that Decca didn't record Carroll more, but the work he did in those two days has given him a reputation among rockabilly aficionados that has only grown. ~ Greg Adams

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Carroll

Product Info:

  • UPC: 790051159283
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)