Hank Locklin Please Help Me I'm Falling [Box Set] (4-CD Box Set)

Please Help Me I'm Falling [Box Set] (4-CD Box
9 ratings
Price: $147.58
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  AAW2
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: June 20, 1995
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Your Heart Is an Island
  • 2.Who Am I to Cast the First Stone
  • 3.You're Out of Step (With the Beat of My Heart)
  • 4.These Ruins Belong to You
  • 5.A Good Woman's Love
  • 6.I'm a Fool
  • 7.Love or Spite
  • 8.Why Baby Why
  • 9.Seven or Eleven
  • 10.You Can't Never Tell
  • 11.Time Nor Tide - (double vocal)
  • 12.I Don't Want It - (double vocal)
  • 13.She's Better Than Most - (double vocal)
  • 14.How Much
  • 15.Going Home All by Myself, (I'm So Tired of)
  • 16.The Rich and the Poor
  • 17.By the Sweat of My Brow
  • 18.Fourteen Karat Gold
  • 19.Livin' Alone
  • 20.Send Me the Pillow You Dream On
  • 21.Why Don't You Haul Off and Love Me
  • 22.Time Nor Tide - (one vocal)
  • 23.I Don't Want It - (one vocal)
  • 24.She's Better Than Most - (one vocal)
  • 25.Geisha Girl
  • 26.Fraulein
  • 27.Blue Grass Skirt
  • 28.Filipino Baby
  • 29.Foreign Love
  • 30.Lili Marlene
  • 31.Mexicali Rose
  • 32.My Wild Irish Rose

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Blue Hawaii
  • 2.Mademoiselle
  • 3.Anna Marie
  • 4.Foreign Love Affair
  • 5.The First Time
  • 6.It's a Little More Like Heaven
  • 7.Simple Things
  • 8.I Gotta Talk to Your Heart
  • 9.The Other Side of the Door
  • 10.Paper Face
  • 11.The Upper Room
  • 12.That Inner Glow
  • 13.Foreign Car
  • 14.When the Band Plays the Blues
  • 15.Border of the Blues
  • 16.Hiding in My Heart
  • 17.Blues in Advance
  • 18.Seven Days (The Humming Song)
  • 19.Second Fiddle
  • 20.Please Help Me I'm Falling
  • 21.My Old Hometown
  • 22.One Step Ahead of My Past
  • 23.Toujours Moi :: Always Me
  • 24.You Only Want Me When You're Lonely
  • 25.The Same Sweet Girl
  • 26.Oh How I Miss You (Since You Went Away)
  • 27.Let Me Be the One
  • 28.From Here to There to You
  • 29.This Song Is Just For You

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Jealous Heart
  • 2.One Has My Name (The Other Has My Heart)
  • 3.I Can't Stop Loving You
  • 4.Johnny My Love (Grandma's Diary)
  • 5.You're the Reason
  • 6.The Keeper of the Keys
  • 7.Happy Birthday to Me
  • 8.I Can See My Angel
  • 9.Happy Journey
  • 10.I Need You Now
  • 11.Welcome Home, Mister Blues
  • 12.We're Gonna Go Fishin'
  • 13.Rudolph, The Red-Nosed Reindeer
  • 14.All the World Is Lonely Now
  • 15.We Live in Two Different Worlds
  • 16.Waltz of the Wind
  • 17.The Great Speckled Bird
  • 18.Pins and Needles (In My Heart)
  • 19.As Long as I Live
  • 20.Blue Eyes Cryin' in the Rain
  • 21.Maple on the Hill
  • 22.Wabash Cannonball
  • 23.The Wreck on the Highway
  • 24.A Precious Jewel
  • 25.Once More
  • 26.Heading Down the Wrong Highway
  • 27.Mansion on the Hill
  • 28.They'll Never Take Her Love From Me
  • 29.I Love You Because
  • 30.Bummin' Around
  • 31.Slowly

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Kentucky Waltz
  • 2.Candy Kisses
  • 3.Rosalita
  • 4.Wishing on a Star
  • 5.Flyin' South
  • 6.Behind the Footlights
  • 7.Sweet Temptation
  • 8.A Little Bit Lonesome
  • 9.Ivory Tower
  • 10.Too Close to Her (And Too Far From You)
  • 11.Followed Closely by My Teardrops
  • 12.It Keeps Right on a Hurtin'
  • 13.You Never Want to Love Me
  • 14.Wooden Soldier
  • 15.Kiss on the Door
  • 16.Galway Bay
  • 17.Too-Ra-Loo-Ra-Loo-Ra (That's an Irish Lullaby)
  • 18.My Wild Irish Rose
  • 19.Danny Dear
  • 20.Danny Boy
  • 21.When Irish Eyes Are Smiling
  • 22.Forty Shades of Green
  • 23.If We Only Had Old Ireland Over Here
  • 24.A Little Bit of Heaven
  • 25.The Old Bog Road
  • 26.Kevin Barry
  • 27.I'll Take You Home Again, Kathleen
  • 28.I Was Coming Home to You
  • 29.I Feel a Cry Coming On
  • 30.Girls Get Prettier, The (Every Day)
  • 31.Hello Heartache

Product Description:

Please Help Me I'm Falling is a four-disc box set containing every recording Hank Locklin made between 1955 and 1964. It traces his evolution from a hillbilly balladeer to a smooth country-pop crooner, although Lockin's performance style, and the kinds of songs he sang, didn't change dramatically. The instrumentation, however, changed in a big way thanks to the rise of the Nashville sound; sweet vocal choruses appeared around 1957, and then strings and muted horns began to dominate arrangements that sometimes sounded more like Guy Lombardo than any antecedent in country music. Locklin has such a pure country tenor, though, that he sounds plenty "country" in any context. Despite the preponderance of country-pop ballads and international material (which includes lots of Irish, Hawaiian, and faux-ethnic material of the "Filipino Baby" variety), Locklin occasionally returned to hillbilly themes as on his 1962 hit "We're Gonna Go Fishin'" (although even that incorporates a rock & roll saxophone). The set takes its name from Locklin's 1960 hit that held the number one spot for months and became one of the decade's biggest hits. Typical for the Bear Family label, the box set is packaged in an LP-sized box with a book full of biographical and discographical information, and many photos. In tandem with Send Me the Pillow That You Dream On, Bear Family's box set of Locklin's early 4-Star sides, Please Help Me I'm Falling rounds up Locklin's complete recordings from the most commercially and artistically vital stage of his career. ~ Greg Adams

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Hank Locklin

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051157302
  • Shipping Weight: 1.96/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)