Jimmy Dean Big Bad John [Bear Family / Sony]

Big Bad John [Bear Family / Sony]
Rating 4.9
11 ratings
Your Price: $30.59
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  IMT 15723_
on most orders of $75
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 5, 1994
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Big Bad John
  • 2.I Won't Go Huntin' With You Jake
  • 3.Smoke, Smoke, Smoke That Cigarette
  • 4.Dear Ivan
  • 5.To a Sleeping Beauty
  • 6.The Cajun Queen
  • 7.P.T. 109
  • 8.Walk on Boy
  • 9.Little Bitty Big John
  • 10.Steel Man
  • 11.Little Black Book
  • 12.Please Pass the Biscuits
  • 13.Gonna Raise a Ruckus Tonight
  • 14.A Day That Changed the World
  • 15.Gotta Travel On
  • 16.Sixteen Tons
  • 17.Oklahoma Bill
  • 18.Night Train to Memphis
  • 19.Make the Waterwheel Roll
  • 20.Lonesome Road
  • 21.Grasshopper Mac Clain
  • 22.Old Pappy's New Banjo
  • 23.You're Nobody 'Til Somebody Loves You
  • 24.Cajun Joe
  • 25.Nobody
  • 26.Kentucky Means Paradise

Product Description:

This 26-song single disc collection covers the highlights of Jimmy Dean's 1961-1962 recordings for Columbia Records; not everything, but most everything that counts. The sheer diversity of material demonstrates some of the problems that Dean had finding and following up on hits; he was a passable singer and likable personality, but he would follow up a pop/rock piece like "Little Black Book" with a blues piece such as "Gonna Raise a Ruckus Tonight." But apart from the hokiest of these tracks ("A Day That Changed the World"), it all holds up, including the title track; the freewheeling "Smoke, Smoke, Smoke That Cigarette"; the weirdly topical "Dear Ivan"; his cover of Merle Travis' "Sixteen Tons"; the sentimental father-to-daughter soliloquy "To a Sleeping Beauty"; the rough-hewn "Big Bad John" follow-up "The Cajun Queen"; the delightful sequel to both songs, "Little Bitty Big John"; "P.T. 109," a tribute to John Kennedy's World War II exploits written in the same vein as Johnny Horton's "Sink the Bismarck"; the wryly cynical "Walk on Boy"; the workers' anthem "Steel Men"; the pop/rock ballad "Little Black Book"; the old Texas blues "Gonna Raise a Ruckus Tonight"; the strange D-day remembrance "A Day That Changed the World"; the breezily folky "Gotta Travel On"; the sad dog (and war) song "Oklahoma Bill"; the effective sub-Elvis "Night Train to Memphis"; and two previously unissued numbers, the slow blues "Lonesome Road" and the swamp ballad "Cajun Joe." ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Jimmy Dean

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 83,531
  • UPC: 790051157234
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item