Carl Mann Mona Lisa (4-CD Box Set)

Mona Lisa (4-CD Box Set)
Price: $95.38
List Price: $105.98
You Save: $10.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  JJE4
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Gonna Rock and Roll Tonight
  • 2.Rockin' Love
  • 3.Mona Lisa - (master)
  • 4.Foolish One
  • 5.Rockin' Love - (master)
  • 6.Pretend
  • 7.I Can't Forget You - (master)
  • 8.Some Enchanted Evening - (master)
  • 9.I'm Coming Home
  • 10.South of the Border - (master)
  • 11.Ain't Got No Home
  • 12.If I Ever Needed You
  • 13.Island of Love
  • 14.Walkin' and Thinkin'
  • 15.Baby I Don't Care
  • 16.I'm Bluer Than Anyone Can Be
  • 17.Wayward Wind, The - (single version)
  • 18.Born to Be Bad
  • 19.Ain't Got No Home
  • 20.If I Could Change You
  • 21.When I Grow Too Old to Dream
  • 22.Mountain Dew
  • 23.Mona Lisa - (alternate take)
  • 24.Look at That Moon
  • 25.Rockin' Love - (alternate take)
  • 26.Too Young
  • 27.Take These Chains From My Heart
  • 28.I Can't Forget You - (undubbed)
  • 29.South of the Border - (alternate take)
  • 30.Kansas City
  • 31.Today Is Christmas

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Wayward Wind, The - (alternate take)
  • 2.Crazy Fool
  • 3.Mountain Dew
  • 4.Blueberry Hill
  • 5.I'll Always Love You Darling
  • 6.Ain't You Got No Lovin' For Me
  • 7.Then I Turned and Walked Slowly Away
  • 8.Serenade of the Bells
  • 9.It Really Doesn't Matter Now
  • 10.Sentimental Journey
  • 11.Born to Be Bad - (undubbed)
  • 12.I Love You, I Adore You
  • 13.Are You Teasing Me
  • 14.Stop the World and Let Me Off
  • 15.I Don't Care
  • 16.I'm Walking the Dog
  • 17.Ubangi Stomp
  • 18.Don't Let the Stars Get in Your Eyes
  • 19.Long Black Veil
  • 20.If I Could Change You
  • 21.Blueberry Hill
  • 22.Canadian Sunset
  • 23.Even Tho'
  • 24.Chinatown, My Chinatown
  • 25.Because of You
  • 26.'Til the End of Forever
  • 27.Mexicali Rose
  • 28.Hey Doll Baby
  • 29.Vanished
  • 30.Baby I Don't Care
  • 31.Walkin' and Thinkin'

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Serenade of the Bells
  • 2.Down to My Last Forgive You
  • 3.Blue River
  • 4.Yesterday Is Gone
  • 5.Burnin' Holes in the Eyes of Abraham Lincoln
  • 6.German Town
  • 7.She Was Young
  • 8.Paying For the Crimes
  • 9.Met Her in Alaska
  • 10.Funny Way of Gettin' Over Someone Else
  • 11.When the Leaves Turn Brown
  • 12.Everyday Grows Sweet With the Wine
  • 13.More to Life
  • 14.Going to Church With Mama
  • 15.It Really Matters
  • 16.Toast to a Fool
  • 17.I'm Married Friend
  • 18.My Favorite Bunch of Roses
  • 19.Burnin' Holes in the Eyes of Abraham Lincoln
  • 20.The Ballad of Johnnie Clyde
  • 21.Cheatin' Time
  • 22.Keep Feeding Her the Wine
  • 23.Let's Turn Back the Pages
  • 24.If I Ever Love Again
  • 25.Make a Man Want To
  • 26.Neon Lights

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.I'm Just About Out of My Mind
  • 2.Neon Lights
  • 3.It's Not the Coffee That's Keeping Me Awake
  • 4.No Easy Way to Say Goodbye
  • 5.Back Lovin'
  • 6.Annie Over Time
  • 7.Somebody Has to Booze
  • 8.Is There No End to Lovin' You
  • 9.Back Lovin'
  • 10.Annie Over Time
  • 11.I've Got Feelings Too
  • 12.Twilight Time
  • 13.Eighteen Yellow Roses
  • 14.Belly Rubbin' Country Soul
  • 15.Tennemonk, Georgia
  • 16.She Loves to Love For the Feeling
  • 17.Love Died a Long Time Ago
  • 18.Darling of Atlanta
  • 19.Country Was the Song
  • 20.Mona Lisa
  • 21.Second Guessing
  • 22.One Last Goodbye
  • 23.On the Back Streets of Dallas
  • 24.Tripping on Teardrops
  • 25.I Love You Too Much

Product Description:

Carl Mann managed a one-million-selling single with his rock & roll interpretation of Nat "King" Cole's "Mona Lisa," and then spent years rocking up familiar oldies in an attempt to duplicate that success. He stayed with the formula for way too long, but the rock & roll recordings he made are enjoyable, mild rockers vaguely reminiscent of Ricky Nelson. Mann switched to country in the mid-'60s, briefly signing with Monument and then ABC in the '70s, but never recaptured his early success. Mona Lisa is nearly a complete recordings collection, beginning with Mann's first single on Jaxon, all of his Sun and Phillips recordings, his Monument and ABC sides, and a lot of non-commercial demos from his country phase. Four decent solo sides by his longtime guitarist, Eddie Bush, are included as well. The bottom line is that Mann's country material is fairly pedestrian, and it comprises half of the set. The two discs of rock & roll recordings are very good, but single-disc anthologies would satisfy 99 percent of listeners. Consequently, Mona Lisa is even more of an artifact for hardcore fans than many of Bear Family's other box sets. ~ Greg Adams

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Carl Mann

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051157135
  • Shipping Weight: 2/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)