Carolyn Hester Dear Companion (2-CD)

Dear Companion (2-CD)
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  IMT 15701
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Imports

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Swing and Turn Jubilee Come Back, Baby
  • 2.I'll Fly Away
  • 3.Dear Companion
  • 4.Los Bibilicos
  • 5.Once I Had a Sweetheart
  • 6.Galway Shawl
  • 7.When Jesus Lived in Galilee
  • 8.Dink's Song
  • 9.Pobre de Mi
  • 10.Yarrow
  • 11.Virgin Mary - (Remake)
  • 12.My Love Is a Rider
  • 13.Gregorio Cortez
  • 14.Simple Gifts
  • 15.Brave Wolfe
  • 16.Sally Free and Easy
  • 17.I Loved a Lass
  • 18.This Life I'm Living
  • 19.Pera Stous
  • 20.Tumbando Cana
  • 21.Coo-Coo
  • 22.The Pratiesw They Grow Small
  • 23.East Virginia
  • 24.Come, O My Love
  • 25.I Want Jesus - (Remake)
  • 26.That's My Song
  • 27.Stay Not Late
  • 28.Amapola

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Ain't That Rain Momma's Tough Little Soldier
  • 2.Lonesome Tears
  • 3.Everytime
  • 4.Can't Help But Wonder Where I'm Bound
  • 5.Ten Thousand Candles
  • 6.The Times I've Had
  • 7.Jute Mill Song
  • 8.The Rivers of Texas
  • 9.Earl Morning
  • 10.Don't Ask Questions
  • 11.Reason to Believe
  • 12.Blues Run the Game
  • 13.I Love My Dog
  • 14.Bye Bye Brown Eyes
  • 15.One in a Million
  • 16.Sunshine Girl
  • 17.Majhires
  • 18.Outside the Window - (Version 1)
  • 19.Hello You Tomorrows
  • 20.Penny Lane
  • 21.Blues Run the Game
  • 22.Come Back, Baby
  • 23.Los Bibilicos
  • 24.I'll Fly Away
  • 25.Virgin Mary
  • 26.Lonesome Tears
  • 27.Summertime
  • 28.I Want Jesus
  • 29.Lonesome Tears - (Remake 1)
  • 30.Outside the Window - (Version 2)
  • 31.Lonesome Tears - (Remake 2)

Product Description:

Two-CD, 60-song compilation of 1960s recordings including both of her Columbia albums, her 1965 Dot album That's My Song, a couple of 1962 cuts ("My Love Is a Rider" and "Gregorio Cortez") whose initial release is unhelpfully unidentified in the liner notes, her two 1966-67 folk-rock Columbia singles, and no less than 18 Columbia outtakes and alternates spanning 1961-67. Although this doesn't have her mid-1960s live Town Hall albums (available on Bear Family's At Town Hall CD), her pre-Columbia album for Tradition, or her psychedelic late-'60s albums as leader of the Carolyn Hester Coalition, it's the best anthology of her 1960s material. Particularly interesting is the rare 1966-67 folk-rock stuff, produced by John Simon with mixed results. "Early Morning" was a single and is the best of these numbers, with its period pop-folk-rock feel; there are also covers of Jackson Frank's "Blues Run the Game," Tim Hardin's "Reason to Believe," and, believe it or not, Cat Stevens' "I Love My Dog." On the other hand, the attempt at "Penny Lane" is pretty ghastly, and the 1966 rendition of Ravi Shankar's "Majhires," with Eric Weisberg on mandolin, is a noble but failed experiment. Going back a little further, highlights of the early-1960s Columbia outtakes include "Summertime" and an intriguing take of Buddy Holly's "Lonesome Tears" with light drums that oh-so-slightly prefigure folk-rock. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Carolyn Hester

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051157012
  • Shipping Weight: 0.43/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)