Bonanza: A Ponderosa Party (4-CD)
by Various Artists

Bonanza: A Ponderosa Party (4-CD)
19 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  IMT 15684
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: June 7, 1993
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Bonanza
  • 2.Sourwood Mountain
  • 3.Sky Ball Paint
  • 4.Early One Morning
  • 5.Ponderosa
  • 6.Careless Love
  • 7.Skip to My Lou
  • 8.In the Pines
  • 9.Happy Birthday
  • 10.My Sons, My Sons
  • 11.The Hangin' Blues
  • 12.Shenandoah
  • 13.Miss Cindy
  • 14.The Place Where I Worship
  • 15.Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
  • 16.Deck the Halls
  • 17.The New Born King
  • 18.Story: The First Christmas Trees
  • 19.Oh Fir Tree Dear
  • 20.Christmas Is a-Comin'
  • 21.O Come, All Ye Faithful
  • 22.Jingle Bells
  • 23.Santa Got Lost in Texas
  • 24.Stuck in the Chimney
  • 25.Story: Why We Light Candles on the Christmas Trees
  • 26.Merry Christmas Neighbor
  • 27.Merry Christmas and Goodnight

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Introduction: Bonanza
  • 2.Introduction: Alamo
  • 3.Introduction: Pony Express
  • 4.Ol' Tin Cup, An
  • 5.Introduction: Endless Prairie
  • 6.Ghostriders in the Sky
  • 7.Introduction: Ringo
  • 8.Introduction: Blue Guitar
  • 9.Introduction: Sand
  • 10.Introduction: Saga of the Ponderosa
  • 11.Five Card Stud
  • 12.Cool Water
  • 13.The Devil's Grin
  • 14.Pretty Horses
  • 15.Devil Cat
  • 16.The Ol' Chisholm Trail
  • 17.Wagon Wheels
  • 18.Frightened Town
  • 19.Shadow of the Cactus
  • 20.Tumbling Tumbleweeds
  • 21.Gold
  • 22.Whoopee Ti Yi Yo

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.The Search
  • 2.Dig, Dig, Dig, Dig (There's No More Water in the Well)
  • 3.Ol' Cyclone
  • 4.Twilight on the Trail
  • 5.Geronimo
  • 6.Mule Train
  • 7.I'm a Gun
  • 8.Gunslinger's Prayer
  • 9.Nellie Cole
  • 10.Home on the Range
  • 11.Virginia Town
  • 12.The Place Where I Worship
  • 13.Introduction: Pop Goes the Hammer
  • 14.Introduction: End of the Track
  • 15.Nine Pound Hammer
  • 16.Introduction: Bring on the Dancin' Girls
  • 17.Introduction: Oh! What a Town
  • 18.Introduction: Fourteen Man
  • 19.Introduction: Destiny
  • 20.Introduction: Sixteen Tons
  • 21.Introduction: Trouble Row
  • 22.Introduction: Chickasaw Mountain
  • 23.Introduction: Darling, My Darling
  • 24.Introduction: The Man
  • 25.Ringo - (French)
  • 26.Du Sable (Sand) - (French)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.The Bold Soldier
  • 2.Mary Ann
  • 3.They Call the Wind Maria
  • 4.Sylvie
  • 5.Lily of the West
  • 6.The Water Is Wide
  • 7.Rake and a Ramblin' Boy
  • 8.A Quiet Girl
  • 9.Shady Grove
  • 10.Alberta
  • 11.Empty Pocket Blues
  • 12.Come All Ye Fair and Tender Ladies
  • 13.Springfield Mountain
  • 14.Roll Out, Heave That Cotton!
  • 15.The Battle Hymn of the Republic
  • 16.The Erie Canal
  • 17.Paiute Sunrise Chant
  • 18.Charles: Steal Away; He Never Said a Mumblin' Word

Product Description:

This 4-CD box set contains country favorites and selections from the TV show "Bonanza" performed by the original cast members (Lorne Greene, Michael Landon, Dan Blocker, Pernell Roberts). Also included in the set is a 28-page booklet with color photos, liner notes and discographies.
Bonanza was the quintessential Western television series. It told the story of a family led by ranch owner Ben Cartwright (Lorne Greene), who had sired three sons: introspective, intellectual Adam (Pernell Roberts), hulking, good-natured "Hoss" (Dan Blocker), and volatile, handsome Little Joe (Michael Landon). When Bonanza first went on the air, it was common practice to get the stars of hit series to expand into other areas, especially recording. Disc One opens with Ponderosa Party Time, the first Bonanza album, which is contrived and sometimes silly but always lively. It features country and folk songs with Greene, Landon, Roberts, and Blocker all singing in character. The material here isn't far removed from the sort of records that Gene Autry used to make for his movies, except that none of these guys is as good a singer as Autry. Lorne Greene's American West, which makes up the first part of Disc Two, is a pretty good record; Welcome to the Ponderosa fills out the rest of the disc. Disc Three is made up of Greene's Portrait of the West and Lorne Greene: The Man albums. These are more western songs, traditional pieces interspersed among modern songs, but both are more elaborately produced than the two previous records. Not all of it works, but it is fun, and livelier than Welcome to the Ponderosa. Pernell Roberts' Come All Ye Fair and Tender Ladies opens Disc Four; it's a pleasant folk album, using mostly traditional or traditional-type material. He sings in a pleasant, rich baritone that makes this the strongest of the eight albums included here. Dan Blocker's 1963 album Our Heritage, recorded with singer/actor John Mitchum, fills out Disc Four. This was a story-and-song celebration of American history, with the folksy, pleasing Blocker telling the stories and Mitchum singing. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 19 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051156848
  • Shipping Weight: 1.86/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)