Hank Snow The Yodelling Ranger (1936-1947) (5-CD Box Set)

The Yodelling Ranger (1936-1947) (5-CD Box Set)
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  AAQY
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Imports

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Prisoned Cowboy
  • 2.Lonesome Blue Yodel
  • 3.Blue For Old Hawaii
  • 4.We Met Down in the Hills of Old Wyoming
  • 5.My San Antonio Mama
  • 6.My Little Swiss Maiden
  • 7.Was There Ever a Pal Like You
  • 8.The Blue Velvet Band
  • 9.The Hobo's Last Ride
  • 10.The Answer to 'That Silver Haired Daddy of Mine'
  • 11.Someday You'll Care
  • 12.I'll Ride Back to Lonesome Valley
  • 13.Bluer Than Blue
  • 14.Yodelling Back to You
  • 15.There's a Picture on Pinto's Bridle
  • 16.The Texas Cowboy
  • 17.On the Mississippi Shore
  • 18.Under Hawaiian Skies
  • 19.She's a Rose From the Garden of Prayer
  • 20.Wanderin' On
  • 21.Broken Wedding Ring
  • 22.You Didn't Have to Tell Me
  • 23.His Message Home
  • 24.Answer to the Blue Velvet Band

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I'll Tell the World That I Love You
  • 2.Polka Dot Blues
  • 3.The Alphabet Song
  • 4.Galveston Rose
  • 5.Broken Dreams
  • 6.Let's Pretend
  • 7.The Days Are Long, I'm Weary
  • 8.I Traded My Saddle For a Rifle
  • 9.When That Someone You Love, Doesn't Love You
  • 10.The Rainbow's End
  • 11.We'll Never Say Goodbye, Just Say So Long
  • 12.I'm Sending You Red Roses
  • 13.Goodnight Little Buckaroo
  • 14.When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again
  • 15.Dream Tide
  • 16.Seal Our Parting With a Kiss
  • 17.You'll Regret Those Words My Darling
  • 18.You Promised to Love Me to the End of the World
  • 19.Just Across the Bridge of Gold
  • 20.There's a Pony That's Lonely Tonight
  • 21.Old Moon of Kentucky
  • 22.Rose of the Rio
  • 23.Lonely and Heartsick

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Your Last Kiss Has Broken My Heart
  • 2.When It's Over, I'll Be Coming Back to You
  • 3.Your Mother Is Praying For You
  • 4.Soldier's Last Letter
  • 5.Riding Along, Singing a Song
  • 6.Don't Hang Around Me Anymore
  • 7.Only a Rose From My Mother's Grave
  • 8.Too Many Tears
  • 9.Your Little Band of Gold
  • 10.Sunny Side of the Mountain
  • 11.You Broke the Chain That Held Our Hearts
  • 12.My Blue River Rose
  • 13.You Played Love on the Strings of My Heart
  • 14.How She Could Yodel
  • 15.Headin' Home
  • 16.Dry Those Tears Little Girl and Don't Cry
  • 17.In Memory of You Dear Old Pal
  • 18.Can't Have You Blues
  • 19.Just Waiting For You
  • 20.My Kalua Sweetheart
  • 21.I'll Not Forget My Mother's Prayer
  • 22.Darling, I'll Always Love You
  • 23.Blue Ranger

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Just a Faded Petal From a Beautiful Bouquet
  • 2.My Sweet Texas Bluebonnet Queen
  • 3.I'm Gonna Bid My Blues Goodbye
  • 4.Down Where the Dark Waters Flow
  • 5.Answer to 'Galveston Rose'
  • 6.Brand on My Heart
  • 7.No Golden Tomorrow Ahead
  • 8.On That Old Hawaiian Shore With You
  • 9.You've Broken My Heart
  • 10.Linda Lou
  • 11.My Mother
  • 12.The Drunkard's Son
  • 13.Within This Broken Heart of Mine
  • 14.My Filipino Rose
  • 15.The Night I Stole Old Sammy Morgan's Gin
  • 16.My Two Timin' Woman
  • 17.Wasted Love
  • 18.Broken Hearted
  • 19.Your Sad Kiss Goodbye
  • 20.Somewhere Along Life's Highway
  • 21.Out on the Open Range
  • 22.Little Buddy
  • 23.Journey My Baby Back Home "146"
  • 24.I Knew That We'd Meet Again
  • 25.Within This Broken Heart of Mine - (alternate take)
  • 26.My Two Timin' Woman - (alternate take)
  • 27.Wasted Love - (alternate take)

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Life Story - (part 1)
  • 2.Life Story - (part 2)
  • 3.Marriage and Divorce - (demo)
  • 4.I Don't Hurt Anymore - (demo)

Product Description:

"The yodelling ranger" Hank Snow later changed his moniker to "the singing ranger" when his flexible tenor slipped to a baritone, but on these early recordings he still had quite a yodel. There is plenty of evidence of it on this five-CD box set of Snow's earliest work. Although it doesn't contain many of Snow's most well-known songs, it still shows off plenty of the skill that makes Snow Canada's greatest country artist.
In addition to Snow's early records for RCA Canada, the set also includes a lot of rarities and demos, which should prove interesting to collectors. This material was recorded well before Snow became a regular on the Grand Ole Opry, but the gorgeous voice and subtle guitar work that Snow fans love is already in place. While not the best place to start exploring this artist, YODELLING RANGER is a fascinating and comprehensive look at Snow's early career.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Hank Snow

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051155872
  • Shipping Weight: 2.29/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)