The Stanley Brothers The Stanley Brothers & The Clinch Mountain Boys 1949-1952

The Stanley Brothers & The Clinch Mountain Boys
3 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GEJS
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Imports


  • 1.A Vision of Mother
  • 2.The White Dove
  • 3.Gathering Flowers for the Master's Bouquet
  • 4.Angels Are Singing, The (In Heaven Tonight)
  • 5.It's Never Too Late to Start Over
  • 6.Have You Someone (In Heaven Awaiting)
  • 7.Little Glass of Wine - (alternate take)
  • 8.Let Me Be Your Friend
  • 9.We'll Be Sweethearts in Heaven
  • 10.I Love No One But You
  • 11.Too Late to Cry
  • 12.The Old Home
  • 13.The Drunkard's Hell
  • 14.Fields Have Turned Brown, The - (alternate take)
  • 15.Hey! hey! hey!
  • 16.The Lonesome River
  • 17.I'm a Man of Constant Sorrow
  • 18.Pretty Polly
  • 19.A Life of Sorrow
  • 20.Sweetest Love
  • 21.The Wandering Boy
  • 22.Let's Part the Best of Friends
  • 23.Fields Have Turned Brown, The - (alternate take)
  • 24.Little Glass of Wine - (alternate take)

Product Description:

/The Clinch Mountain Boys.
The Stanley Brothers & The Clinch Mountain Boys: Carter Stanley (vocals, guitar); Ralph Stanley (vocals, banjo); Darrell "PeeWee" Lambert (vocals, mandolin); George Shuffler (vocals, bass); Robert "Bobby" Sumner, Les Woodie, Art Wooten (fiddle); James "Jay" Hughes, Ernest "Ernie" Newton (bass).
Reissue producer: Richard Weize.
Recorded at Castle Studio, Nashville, Tennessee between 1949 & 1952. Includes liner notes by Gary B. Reid.
Personnel: Carter Stanley (vocals, guitar); Darrell "Pee Wee" Lambert (tenor, baritone, mandolin); Ralph Stanley (tenor, banjo); George Shuffler (baritone); Robert "Bobby" Sumner, Lester Woodie, Art Wooten (fiddle).
Liner Note Authors: Gary B. Reid; Richard Weize.
Recording information: Castle Studio, Nashville TN (03/01/1949-04/11/1952).
Illustrators: Colin Escott; David Freeman .
Photographers: Colin Escott; David Freeman .
This is it, the absolute perfect starting point for neophyte fans who want to discover the Stanley Brothers. The years between 1949 and 1952, when the Virginia brothers were signed to Columbia Records, are largely considered their most fruitful period. Certainly this lineup of their backing band, the Clinch Mountain Boys, was the strongest; besides Carter Stanley's assured leads and Ralph Stanley's heartbreaking tenor, these recordings introduced mandolin player Darrell "Pee Wee" Lambert and his one-of-a-kind high-baritone harmonies, the secret ingredient that made the Stanley Brothers' recordings from this era sound like nothing that had come before in bluegrass. As usual with Bear Family reissues, this set contains every note from the brothers' Columbia sessions, including previously unreleased alternate takes of "The Fields Have Turned Brown" and "Little Glass of Wine," along with full session notes and illuminating liner notes courtesy of historian Gary B. Reid. Yes, it has the original "I'm a Man of Constant Sorrow" for all of you O Brother Where Art Thou fans, but the 23 other tracks are every bit as vital, imaginative, and pure. This, in its purest and most graceful form, is what bluegrass is all about. ~ Stewart Mason

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Stanley Brothers

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051155643
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)