Hank Snow The Singing Ranger, Volume 2 (4-CD Box Set)

The Singing Ranger, Volume 2 (4-CD Box Set)
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  AAK3
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Imports

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Love's Call From the Mountain
  • 2.I've Forgotten You
  • 3.That Crazy Mambo Thing
  • 4.Let Me Go Lover
  • 5.Old Spinning Wheel, The - (featuring Chet Atkins)
  • 6.Darktown Strutter's Ball - (featuring Chet Atkins)
  • 7.Silver Bell - (featuring Chet Atkins)
  • 8.Under the Double Eagle - (featuring Chet Atkins)
  • 9.It's You Only You, That I Love - (featuring Anita Carter)
  • 10.Keep Your Promise, Willie Thomas - (featuring Anita Carter)
  • 11.Cryin', Prayin', Waitin', Hopin'
  • 12.Someone Mentioned Your Name
  • 13.I'm Glad I Got to See You Once Again
  • 14.Mainliner (The Hawk of the West)
  • 15.Cuba Rhumba
  • 16.A Scale to Measure Love
  • 17.Blue Sea Blues
  • 18.Twelfth Street Rag
  • 19.Rainbow Boogie
  • 20.Vaya con Dios
  • 21.Madison Madness
  • 22.Caribbean
  • 23.Can't Have You Blues
  • 24.Dog Bone
  • 25.Born to Be Happy
  • 26.The Golden Rocket
  • 27.Hobo Bill's Last Ride
  • 28.Stolen Moments
  • 29.Pray
  • 30.The Blind Boys Prayer

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Nothing But Sweet Lies
  • 2.Conscience I'm Guilty
  • 3.Hula Rock
  • 4.Two Won't Care
  • 5.The Party of the Second Part
  • 6.These Hands
  • 7.Reminiscin' - (featuring Chet Atkins)
  • 8.New Spanish Two Step - (featuring Chet Atkins)
  • 9.In an 18th-Century Drawing Room
  • 10.La Cucaracha
  • 11.Born to Loose
  • 12.I'm Movin' In
  • 13.Love's Call From the Mountain
  • 14.Sunrise Serenade
  • 15.El Rancho Grande
  • 16.Grandfather's Clock
  • 17.The Lover's Farewell
  • 18.Carnival of Venice
  • 19.Old Doc Brown
  • 20.That Pioneer Mother of Mine
  • 21.Lazy Bones
  • 22.What Do I Know Today
  • 23.Trouble, Trouble, Trouble
  • 24.The First Nighters
  • 25.How to Play the Guitar
  • 26.Little Britches
  • 27.What Is Father
  • 28.Horses Prayer

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Wedding Bells
  • 2.Loose Talk
  • 3.I Almost Lost My Mind
  • 4.Sing Me a Song
  • 5.Memories Are Made of This
  • 6.These Tears Are Not For You
  • 7.Singing the Blues
  • 8.My Life With You
  • 9.Poison Love
  • 10.Among My Souvenirs
  • 11.Born to Loose
  • 12.It's Been So Long Darling
  • 13.La Paloma
  • 14.Oh Wonderful World
  • 15.Chant of the Wanderer
  • 16.I Really Don't Want to Know
  • 17.Squid Jiggin' Ground
  • 18.The New Blue Velvet Band
  • 19.Calypso Sweetheart
  • 20.I'm Hurtin' All Over
  • 21.My Memory
  • 22.The Party of the Second Part
  • 23.Marriage and Divorce
  • 24.Unfaithful
  • 25.Tangled Mind
  • 26.My Arms Are a House
  • 27.Love's Call From the Mountain
  • 28.I Traded Love

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.On a Tennessee Saturday Night
  • 2.Big Wheels
  • 3.A Woman Captured Me
  • 4.I Heard My Heart Break Last Night
  • 5.I Wish I Was on the Moon
  • 6.My Lucky Friend
  • 7.Whispering Rain
  • 8.I'm Hurtin' All Over
  • 9.My Memory
  • 10.I'm Here to Get My Baby Out of Jail
  • 11.Don't Make Me Go to Bed and I'll Be Good
  • 12.The Convict and the Rose
  • 13.There's a Little Box of Pine on the 7:29
  • 14.Put My Little Shoes Away
  • 15.The Letter Edged in Black
  • 16.Old Shep
  • 17.Prisoner's Prayer
  • 18.A Drunkard's Child
  • 19.Little Buddy
  • 20.Nobody's Child
  • 21.Sleepy Rio Grande
  • 22.Blue Danube Waltz
  • 23.Waltz, Kitty Waltz
  • 24.Brahms' Lullaby - (without echo)
  • 25.Under the Double Eagle
  • 26.Brahms' Lullaby - (with echo)

Product Description:

In the 1950s, Canadian performer Hank Snow, the Singing Ranger, became a full-fledged country star, and had a remarkable string of hits during the decade. Following in the footsteps of his ever-travelin' hero, Jimmie Rodgers (aka the Singing Brakeman), Snow issued twangy tales of wanderlust such as "The Golden Rocket," a fast-paced tune about riding the rails, and the lovelorn "Big Wheels," both presented on this massive four-disc Bear Family box set.
The incredibly thorough 112-track collection also features Snow's forays into Hawaiian music, including the lilting "Hula Rock" and the laid-back "Sing Me a Song of the Islands," proving that he was willing to venture down a number of stylistic paths (see also "La Cucaracha" and "Brahms' Lullaby" as well). With his deep voice and bold delivery, Snow also excelled at ballads, and there are many on this compilation, including the wistful "Born to Lose" and the blissful "Memories Are Made of This." Although THE SINGING RANGER VOL. 2 is geared toward Snow completists, listeners willing to dive way deep into his '50s material will be richly rewarded with these wonderfully dynamic songs.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Hank Snow

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051154769
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)