Flatt & Scruggs 1948-1959 (4-CD Box Set)

1948-1959 (4-CD Box Set)
6 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  AAJY
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Imports

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.God Loves His Children
  • 2.I'm Going to Make Heaven My Home
  • 3.We'll Meet Again Sweetheart
  • 4.My Cabin in Caroline
  • 5.Baby Blue Eyes
  • 6.Bouquet in Heaven
  • 7.Down the Road
  • 8.Why Don't You Tell Me So?
  • 9.I'll Never Shed Another Tear
  • 10.No Mother or Dad
  • 11.Is It Too Late Now!
  • 12.Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  • 13.I'll Be Going to Heaven Sometime
  • 14.So Happy I'll Be
  • 15.My Little Girl in Tennessee
  • 16.I'll Never Love Another
  • 17.Doin' My Time
  • 18.Pike County Breakdown
  • 19.Cora Is Gone
  • 20.Preachin', Prayin', Singin'
  • 21.Pain in My Heart
  • 22.Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms
  • 23.Back to the Cross
  • 24.Farewell Blues
  • 25.Old Salty Dog Blues
  • 26.Take Me in a Lifeboat
  • 27.Will the Roses Bloom
  • 28.I'll Just Pretend

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Come Back Darling
  • 2.I'm Head Over Heels in Love
  • 3.I'm Waiting to Hear You Call Me Darling
  • 4.The Old Home Town
  • 5.I'll Stay Around
  • 6.We Can't Be Darlings Anymore
  • 7.Jimmie Brown, The Newsboy
  • 8.Somehow Tonight
  • 9.Don't Get Above Your Raising
  • 10.I'm Working on a Road
  • 11.He Took Your Place
  • 12.I've Lost You
  • 13.'Tis Sweet to Be Remembered
  • 14.I'm Gonna Settle Down
  • 15.Earl's Breakdown
  • 16.I'm Lonesome and Blue
  • 17.Over the Hills to the Poorhouse
  • 18.My Darling's Last Goodbye
  • 19.Get in Line Brother
  • 20.Brother, I'm Getting Ready to Go
  • 21.Why Did You Wander?
  • 22.Flint Hill Special
  • 23.Thinking About You
  • 24.If I Should Wander Back Tonight
  • 25.Dim Lights, Thick Smoke
  • 26.Dear Old Dixie

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Reunion in Heaven
  • 2.Pray For the Boys
  • 3.I'll Go Stepping Too
  • 4.I'd Rather Be Alone
  • 5.Foggy Mountain Chimes
  • 6.Someone Took My Place With You
  • 7.Mother Prays Loud in Her Sleep
  • 8.That Old Book of Mine
  • 9.Your Love Is Like a Flower
  • 10.Be Ready For Tomorrow May Never Come
  • 11.Till the End of the World Rolls Around
  • 12.You're Not a Drop in the Bucket
  • 13.Don't This Road Look Rough and Rocky
  • 14.Foggy Mountain Special
  • 15.You Can Feel It in Your Soul
  • 16.Old Fashioned Preacher
  • 17.Before I Met You
  • 18.I'm Gonna Sleep With One Eye Open
  • 19.Randy Lynn Rag
  • 20.On My Mind
  • 21.Blue Ridge Cabin Home
  • 22.Some Old Day
  • 23.It Won't Be Long
  • 24.No Mother in This World
  • 25.Gone Home
  • 26.Bubbling in My Soul
  • 27.Joy Bells
  • 28.What's Good For You

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.No Doubt About It
  • 2.Who Will Sing For Me
  • 3.Give Mother My Crown
  • 4.Six White Horses
  • 5.Shuckin' the Corn
  • 6.I'll Take the Blame - (previously unreleased)
  • 7.Don't Let Your Deal Go Down
  • 8.A Hundred Years From Now
  • 9.Give Me the Flowers While I'm Living
  • 10.Is There Room For Me
  • 11.I'll Take the Blame
  • 12.Let Those Brown Eyes Smile at Me
  • 13.I'll Never Shed Another Tear
  • 14.I Won't Be Hanging Around
  • 15.I Don't Care Anymore
  • 16.Big Black Train
  • 17.Mama's and Daddy's Little Girl
  • 18.Crying Alone
  • 19.A Million Years in Glory
  • 20.Heaven
  • 21.Building on Sand
  • 22.Jesus Saviour Pilot Me
  • 23.Crying My Heart Out Over You
  • 24.Ground Speed
  • 25.Who Knows Right From Wrong
  • 26.Iron Curtain
  • 27.Cabin on the Hill
  • 28.Someone You Have Forgotten
  • 29.Foggy Mountain Rock
  • 30.You Put Me on My Feet

Product Description:

Flatt & Scruggs: Lester Flatt (vocals, guitar); Earl Scruggs (banjo, background vocals).
The first of four box sets documenting the complete recordings of Flatt & Scruggs as a working band, this one detailing the group's first 11 years is generally considered the most essential. These 113 tracks represent the duo's complete Mercury recordings on disc one and the beginning of their Columbia sides on discs two through four. There is one completely unissued cut, and the entire package has been remastered and contains copious liner notes. Contained here are the 1949 recordings of their classic "Foggy Mountain Breakdown" and 1950's "Rollin' in My Sweet Baby's Arms," and also mid-'50s stompers such as "Dim Lights, Thick Smoke," "Flint Hill Special," and "You're Not a Drop in the Bucket"; gospel tunes such as "Give My Mother My Crown," "A Million Years in Glory," "Jesus Savior Pilot Me"; and hot singles such as "Cabin on the Hill," "Foggy Mountain Rock," and "Crying My Heart Out Over You." Beginning with the Bill Monroe band where Flatt's voice first countered Monroe's high lonesome, Flatt & Scruggs made that low, clear bell of a sound into a trademark -- as they did with Scruggs' unique banjo styles. While the music on later collections is fine and rousing, this is truly exciting with all the hope and trepidation of discovery and walking the high wire in search of something original. These four CDs are essential for every serious fan of bluegrass music. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Flatt & Scruggs

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051154721
  • Shipping Weight: 1.69/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)