Bill Monroe Bluegrass 1950-1958 (4-CD Box Set)

Bluegrass 1950-1958 (4-CD Box Set)
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  IMT 15423
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Imports

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Blue Grass Ramble
  • 2.New Muleskinner Blues
  • 3.My Little Georgia Rose
  • 4.Memories of You
  • 5.I'm on My Way to the Old Home
  • 6.Alabama Waltz
  • 7.I'm Blue, I'm Lonesome
  • 8.I'll Meet You in Church on Sunday Morning
  • 9.Boat of Love
  • 10.The Old Fiddler
  • 11.Uncle Pen
  • 12.When the Golden Leaves Begin to Fall
  • 13.Lord Protect My Soul
  • 14.River of Death
  • 15.Letter From My Darling
  • 16.On the Old Kentucky Shore
  • 17.Raw Hide
  • 18.Poison Love
  • 19.Kentucky Waltz
  • 20.Prisoner's Song
  • 21.Swing Low Sweet Chariot
  • 22.Angels Rock Me to Sleep
  • 23.Brakeman's Blues
  • 24.Travelin' Blues
  • 25.When the Cactus Is in Bloom

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sailor' S Plea
  • 2.My Carolina Sunshine Girl
  • 3.Ben Dewberry's Final Run
  • 4.Peach Pickin' Time in Georgia
  • 5.Those Gambler's Blues
  • 6.Highway of Sorrow
  • 7.Rotation Blues
  • 8.Lonesome Truck Driver's Blues
  • 9.Sugar Coated Love
  • 10.You're Drifting Away
  • 11.Cabin of Love
  • 12.Get Down on Your Knees and Pray
  • 13.Christmas Time's a-Coming
  • 14.The First Whippoorwill
  • 15.In the Pines
  • 16.Footprints in the Snow
  • 17.Walking in Jerusalem
  • 18.Memories of Mother and Dad
  • 19.The Little Girl and the Dreadful Snake
  • 20.Country Waltz
  • 21.Don't Put It Off til Tomorrow
  • 22.My Dying Bed
  • 23.A Mighty Pretty Waltz
  • 24.Pike County Breakdown
  • 25.Wishing Waltz
  • 26.I Hope You Have Learned
  • 27.Get up John

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Sitting Alone in the Moonlight
  • 2.Plant Some Flowers by My Grave
  • 3.Changing Partners
  • 4.Y'All Come
  • 5.On and On
  • 6.I Believed in You Darling
  • 7.New John Henry Blues
  • 8.White House Blues
  • 9.Happy on My Way
  • 10.I'm Working on a Building
  • 11.A Voice From on High
  • 12.He Will Set Your Fields on Fire
  • 13.Close By
  • 14.My Little Georgia Rose
  • 15.Put My Little Shoes Away
  • 16.Blue Moon of Kentucky
  • 17.Wheel Hoss
  • 18.Cheyenne
  • 19.You'll Find Her Name Written There
  • 20.Roanoke
  • 21.Wait a Little Longer, Please Jesus
  • 22.Let the Light Shine Down on Me
  • 23.Used to Be
  • 24.Tall Timber
  • 25.Brown County Breakdown
  • 26.A Fallen Star
  • 27.Four Walls
  • 28.A Good Woman's Love
  • 29.Cry Cry Darlin'
  • 30.I'm Sittin' on Top of the World

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Out in the Cold World
  • 2.Roane County Prison
  • 3.Goodbye Old Pal
  • 4.In Despair
  • 5.Molly and Tenbrooks
  • 6.Come Back to Me in My Dreams
  • 7.Sally-Jo
  • 8.Brand New Shoes
  • 9.A Lonesome Road
  • 10.I Saw the Light
  • 11.Lord, Build Me a Cabin in Glory
  • 12.Lord Lead Me On
  • 13.Precious Jewel
  • 14.I'll Meet You in the Morning
  • 15.Life's Railway to Heaven
  • 16.I've Found a Hiding Place
  • 17.Jesus Hold My Hand
  • 18.I Am a Pilgrim
  • 19.Wayfaring Stranger
  • 20.A Beautiful Life
  • 21.House of Gold
  • 22.Panhandle Country
  • 23.Scotland
  • 24.Gotta Travel On
  • 25.No One But My Darlin'
  • 26.Big Mon
  • 27.Monroe's Hornpipe

Product Description:

BLUEGRASS (1950-1958) is a 4-disc set containing 109 recordings. It includes a 65-page book with detailed discography and personnel listing.
Personnel: Bill Monroe (mandolin); Charlie Cline (guitar, fiddle); James H. Martin, Claude J. Phelps, Thomas Grady Martin, Jimmy Selph, Lester Sandy, Loren Otis Shook, Carter Stanley, Douglas Kershaw, Edd Mayfield, Vernon Crawford Cook (guitar); James Ora Bowers, Rudy Lyle, Sonny Osborne, Jim Smoak, Hubert Davis, Joe Stuart, Don Stover, Joe Drumright, Robert Lee Pennington (banjo); Vassar Clements, Merle Taylor, Bobby Hicks, Thomas Jackson, James Smith, Dale Potter, Gordon Terry, Kenny Baker (fiddle); Owen Bradley (piano, organ, vibraphone); Oscar Sheehan, Joel Price, Ernest Newton, William D. Killen, Bessie Lee Maudlin, Jimmy Elrod, Howard Watts, Culley Holt (bass); Farris Coursey (drums).
Producers: Owen Bradley, Paul Cohen.
Compilation producer: Richard Weize.
Recorded between February 3, 1950 and December 1, 1958. Includes liner notes by Neil V. Rosenberg and Charles K. Wolfe.
The 50's were a benchmark period for Bill Monroe, an era during which he recorded many of the songs on which his legendary stature rests. Monroe's band in the 50's also served as a training ground for future bluegrass legends, including guitarist/singer Jimmy Martin, fiddlers Vassar Clements, Charlie Cline, and Gordon Terry, and banjo players Sonny Osborne and Don Stover. Bear Family Records, a German archival label, has compiled all of Monroe's recordings of this era with their usual care and respect for the material.
Monroe's exacting standards ensure that nearly all the tracks here bear up to repeated listening. Not all of Monroe's 50's work, however, is worth preserving; his failed efforts to incorporate organ into the bluegrass sound, for example, would be better forgotten. For every miscue on this four-disc set, however, there are a dozen masterpieces like "Walking In Jerusalem," "Footprints in the Snow," "Uncle Pen," and "Wayfaring Stranger." Meticulous mastering and annotation round out a stellar package that belongs in the collection of any serious bluegrass fan.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Bill Monroe

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051154233
  • Shipping Weight: 2.04/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)