John D. Loudermilk It's My Time

It's My Time
3 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GEEG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Imports


  • 1.It's My Time
  • 2.No Playing in the Snow Today
  • 3.The Little Grave
  • 4.I'm Looking For a World
  • 5.What Is It?
  • 6.Bubble, Please Break
  • 7.Ma Baker's Little Acre
  • 8.Mary's No Longer Mine
  • 9.To Hell With Love
  • 10.Talkin' Silver Cloud Blues
  • 11.Joey Stays With Me
  • 12.The Lament of the Cherokee Reservation Indian
  • 13.The Jones
  • 14.You're the Guilty One
  • 15.Where Have They Gone
  • 16.The Littlebird
  • 17.Brown Girl
  • 18.Givin' You All My Love
  • 19.I Chose You
  • 20.Honey
  • 21.That Ain't All
  • 22.Interstate 40
  • 23.Do You
  • 24.Tobacco Road

Product Description:

John D. Loudermilk was one of the best and most interesting songwriters of the '50s and '60s. He was endlessly creative in coming up with unusual and intriguing topics for his songs, as It's My Time shows. Bear Family broke from their usual M.O. of offering complete and/or chronological packages, and assembled two dozen message-oriented songs Loudermilk recorded for RCA Victor from 1961-68, sequenced in no particular order. Although it isn't entirely thematically consistent, many of the songs on It's My Time do contain some kind of social commentary. "No Playing in the Snow Today" concerns nuclear testing, "The Jones" takes a swipe at conformity, "Brown Girl" deals sensitively with an interracial relationship, and "The Little Grave" could be interpreted as a song of non-violence, vegetarianism, or both. Several cuts are Loudermilk's performances of songs he wrote that had been, or later became, hits for other artists, including "The Little Bird" (for Marianne Faithfull), "The Lament of the Cherokee Reservation Indian" (for Paul Revere and the Raiders), and "Tobacco Road" (for the Nashville Teens). A few were hits for Loudermilk as well, and three are previously unreleased. Among the latter, "Givin' You All My Love" is notable for sounding a lot like a British Invasion song, even though it was recorded in 1962. It's My Time, in combination with Bear Family's other two Loudermilk collections, Blue Train and Sittin' in the Balcony, form a thorough survey of this talented songwriter's recording career. ~ Greg Adams

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for John D. Loudermilk

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051154226
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)