Scissor Sisters Magic Hour [Deluxe Edition]

Magic Hour [Deluxe Edition]
10% OFF
Rating 3.9
47 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
List Price: $17.98
Your Price: $16.18
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  CASB 050072
on most orders of $100
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 29, 2012
  • Label: Casablanca

Entertainment Reviews:

Q (Magazine) - p.94
4 stars out of 5 -- "Scissor Sisters are a band that always succeeded most when combining big surprises with big choruses, and they pull it out of the hat in quite an extraordinary fashion here."
Uncut (magazine) - p.83
"[T]his is full of melodies that feel effortless and instantly classic."


  • 1.Baby Come Home
  • 2.Keep Your Shoes
  • 3.Inevitable
  • 4.Only the Horses
  • 5.Year of Living Dangerously
  • 6.Let's Have a Kiki
  • 7.Shady Love
  • 8.San Luis Obispo
  • 9.Self Control
  • 10.Best In Me
  • 11.The Secret Life of Letters
  • 12.Somewhere
  • 13.Miss Matronic's Magic Message
  • 14.F*** Yeah
  • 15.Let's Have a Kiki [DJ Nita Remix]
  • 16.F*** Yeah [Seamus Haji Remix]
  • 17.Only the Horses
  • 18.Only the Horses [Behind the Scenes]

Product Description:

Personnel: Chrissi Poland, Bridget Barkan (background vocals).
Audio Remixers: DJ Nita; Seamus Haji.
Recording information: Discoball Jazzfest Studios; New Home, Berlin; Sarm, London; Stratosphere, New York, NY.
Scissor Sisters followed Night Work's dancefloor triumphs with Magic Hour, a set of songs that seem more comfortable when they don't feel like dancing. Not that the group doesn't try to keep Night Work's momentum going: Jake Shears, Ana Matronic, and company recruited Pharrell Williams and Calvin Harris to co-produce a couple of tracks, and invited Azealia Banks to rap on "Shady Love." It's just that, much like on Ta-Dah!, this time Scissor Sisters' skill at writing more introspective pop songs is that much sharper, and more prominent. Magic Hour shows its hand right away with the great opening track "Baby Come Home," possibly the band's most appealing single since "Don't Feel Like Dancin'" and definitely a showcase for the band's AM pop songwriting mastery -- they're still the best among the many acts who dig through '70s and early-'80s pop for inspiration, such as Mika, Chromeo, and Electric Guest. Pharrell helps the band attain breezy Bee Gees nirvana on "Inevitable," and Shears shines on "San Luis Obispo"'s sunny, strummy pop and "Best in Me," which puts a melody that would easily fit on one of Scissor Sisters' more retro tracks to a briskly contemporary arrangement. When the band picks up the pace, sometimes they work their kinetic magic, as on the aerodynamic "Keep Your Shoes On" and the Matronic showcase "Let's Have a Kiki," an anthem about low-rent fabulosity and justified cattiness. Magic Hour may not be as satisfying to fans who just wanna dance as albums like Night Work and Scissor Sisters were, but it should please those who enjoy the band's formidable songwriting skills as much as cutting a rug -- and at the very least, it reaffirms that Scissor Sisters still have more depth than some people give them credit for. [This version of Magic Hour features several bonus tracks that balance the album's reflective feel, including a pounding remix of "Let's Have a Kiki" by DJ Nita and the hyperactive "F*** Yeah."] ~ Heather Phares

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.9
Based on 47 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Scissor Sisters

Product Info:

  • UPC: 602537050079
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item