The Tannahill Weavers Capernaum

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
4 ratings
List Price: $16.98
Your Price: $15.28
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  GLR 481146

CD Details

  • Released: August 1, 1994
  • Label: Green Linnet

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - 12/94-1/95, p.62
"...Gullane's rich and craggy voice is improving with age....the Tannahill Weavers' best album in years..."


  • 1.The Blackbird Set: Blackley Of Hillsdale / The Blackbird / The Hankie Dance / Jack Daniel's Reel / The Farmer's Daughter
  • 2.Capernaum
  • 3.The Plooboy Laddies / John Murray Of Lochee
  • 4.The Unicorn Set: The Unicorn / Trip To Pakistan / An Andro
  • 5.The Braes O' Balquhidder
  • 6.The Hieland Sodger
  • 7.The Carls O'Dysart
  • 8.The Log Splitter Set: Caradale Bay / The Log Splitter / Calibachan / Drochaid Luideach
  • 9.The Sound of Taransay
  • 10.The Brewer Laddie / Cathkin Braes
  • 11.The Bergen
  • 12.Gray Bob's Set: Cutty's Wedding / Loch Carron / Gray Bob
  • 13.Captain Ward / The Streaker
  • 14.Hame

Product Description:

The Tannahill Weavers: Roy Gullane (vocals, guitar), Les Wilson (vocals, guitar, bouzouki, keyboards), John Martin (vocals, fiddle, viola, cello), Phil Smillie (vocals, bodhran, flute, whistle), Kenny Forsyth (Highland bagpipes, Scottish small pipes, whistle).
Additional personnel: Nik Kinloch (drums).
Recorded at CaVa East, Edinburgh, Scotland in February and April, 1994. Includes liner notes by Maggie Smillie.
The Tannahill Weavers are in the class of the modern Scottish folk bands; not only do they boast great singers and focus primarily on traditional material, but they also make tasteful use of the Highland bagpipes. Don't laugh. For many listeners, that's a serious issue; the Highland pipes have a sound that you either love or hate. The Weavers help you love it by putting great care into their arrangements. For example, the opening medley on this disc features no fewer than five traditional fiddle tunes (performed in under five minutes), and that approach is part of what makes those skirling pipes so easy on the ear; by the time you get tired of hearing one melody you've already heard two more. Then they throw themselves into the serious vocal work on the title track, and you think you've died and gone to Aberdeen -- or Edinburgh, given the tune's subject matter. "Capernaum" is a setting of Lewis Spence's poetic lament over the bloody and repressive history of that city, and the melody is a bracing dirge sung with authority by the Weavers, who handle the dense, tight harmonies with passionate ease. The next track is a heartwrenching ballad called "The Plooboy Laddies," and from this high point on, the album's quality basically never falters. Instrumentals and songs are fairly evenly distributed, and the liner notes include a handy glossary of Scots Gaelic terms used in the lyrics. ~ Rick Anderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Tannahill Weavers

Product Info:

  • UPC: 048248114622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item