Gilles Peterson Brazilika

Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  ESRH
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2012
  • Label: Far Out Recordings / Traffic

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.99
4 stars out of 5 -- "Plenty of styles are covered in a collage of old and new, from samba to psych, bossa, jazz, folk, batacuda and dance. Despite the juxtaposition, the flow is fairly smooth..."


  • 1.Manha (Intro)
  • 2.Os Escravos Do Jo - (featuring C‚lia Vaz)
  • 3.Obnoxious
  • 4.Esta Tudo Ai
  • 5.Canto Pra Oxum [Canto Pra Oxum Batucada]
  • 6.Deixa a Nega Gingar
  • 7.E Isso Ai
  • 8.Malandro Quando Vaza
  • 9.Berimbal (Capoeira)
  • 10.Galope
  • 11.Quem Sou Eu
  • 12.Vagalume
  • 13.Melo Dos Dois Bicudos
  • 14.Balinha
  • 15.Chegada
  • 16.Francisco Cat - (Pressure Drop Remix, remix, featuring C‚lia Vaz)
  • 17.Tudo de Bom - (previously unreleased)
  • 18.Na Batida Do Agogo - (Osunlade Remix, remix)
  • 19.Depois Do Carnival - (Spiritual South Remix, remix, previously unreleased)
  • 20.Memories - (previously unreleased)
  • 21.Feijao com Arroz - (Remix, remix, previously unreleased)
  • 22.Joanna
  • 23.Uno Esta - (previously unreleased, featuring Sabrina Malheiros)

Product Description:

Personnel: Nina Miranda (vocals); Chris Frank (guitar); Stephen Hussey (strings); Jose Carretas (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixers: Gilles Peterson; Toni Economides.
Audio Remixers: Mark Robertson; Osunlade.
Illustrator: Andy Votel.
Introduction by: Bata DeLeobonz.
Arranger: Jose Carretas.
Gilles Peterson's mix to celebrate the 15th anniversary of the Far Out label unites old and new with ease -- which is no wonder, from the man equally tuned in to dusty crates of previously forgotten LPs as well as the newly shrink-wrapped dubplate. Focused on the music of Brazil (obviously), Brazilika resurrects forgotten classics -- to cite just two: Jose Mauro's piece of string melancholia, "Obnoxious," and a version of the Doris Monteiro hit "E Isso Ai" by Sidney Miller (who wrote the song) -- alongside tracks from the '90s and 2000s (like remixes by Domu and Osunlade) that originally came out on Far Out, not just their publishing/reissue arm. It's hardly a surprise that the mix is packed with gems, but Peterson continues to astound with the way he unites a vast array of different music with ease. (As most fans know, Brazil is hardly a uniform music culture.) Also worthy of being called out is "Quem Sou Eu" by the unknown Krishnanda, which brings together a little of the jazz avant-garde with electronics and some skewed Tom Z‚ type of songwriting. ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Gilles Peterson

Product Info

  • UPC: 5060006359422
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)