King Oliver Sugar Foot Stomp

Sugar Foot Stomp
1 rating
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $6 (50% Off)
Unavailable: Sold Out
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  ZSM 192
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • All "ZSM" coded CDs are in new and never-played condition. Most are sealed. However, product may have manufacturer's delete notch, drill hole, prior sale stickers, or worn or missing OUTER wrap.
  • Released: July 21, 1992
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: GRP Records


  • 1.Too Bad
  • 2.Snag It - (1st version)
  • 3.Deep Henderson
  • 4.Jackass Blues
  • 5.Sugar Foot Stomp
  • 6.Wa Wa Wa
  • 7.Tack Annie
  • 8.Someday, Sweetheart
  • 9.Dead Man Blues
  • 10.New Wang Wang Blues
  • 11.Snag It - (2nd version)
  • 12.Doctor Jazz
  • 13.Showboat Shuffle
  • 14.Every Tub
  • 15.Willie the Weeper
  • 16.Black Snake Blues
  • 17.Farewell Blues
  • 18.Sobbin' Blues
  • 19.Tin Roof Blues
  • 20.West End Blues
  • 21.Sweet Emmalina
  • 22.Lazy Mama

Product Description:

Full Title: Sugar Foot Stomp/The Original Decca Recordings.
Personnel: Joe "King" Oliver (cornet); Bud Scott (vocals, banjo); Richard M. Jones, Clarence Williams (vocals, piano); Paul Barbarin (vocals, drums); Georgia Taylor (vocals); Omer Simeon, Albert Nicholas, Billy Paige, Barney Bigard (soprano & tenor saxophones, clarinet); Paul "Stump" Evans, Paul Barnes (soprano & alto saxophones); Darnell Howard, Ernest Elliot (alto saxophone, clarinet); Arville Harris (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Bob Shoffner (trumpet); Thomas "Tick" Gray (cornet); Jimmy Archey, Edward "Kid" Ory (trombone); Bert Cobb, Cyrus St. Clair (tuba); Johnny Dodds (clarinet); Luis Russell (piano).
Recorded in Chicago between 1926 and 1928. Includes liner notes by Steven Lasker.
Personnel: King Oliver (cornet); Bud Scott (vocals, banjo); Clarence Williams, Richard M. Jones (vocals, piano); Paul Barbarin (vocals, drums); George Taylor (vocals); Leroy Harris (banjo); Bill Paige, Albert Nicholas, Omer Simeon (clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Barney Bigard (clarinet, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Darnell Howard, Ernest Elliott (clarinet, alto saxophone); Arville Harris (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Johnny Dodds (clarinet); Paul Barnes , Paul Evans (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Bob Shoffner (trumpet); Jimmy Archey, Kid Ory (trombone); Cyrus St. Clair, Bert Cobb (tuba); Luis Russell (piano).
Recording information: 03/11/1926-06/11/1928.
This Decca reissue CD put out by GRP is a fine sampler of King Oliver's 1926-28 recordings with his Dixie Syncopators. The hot jazz dance music is highlighted by several classics ("Too Bad," "Snag It," "Jackass Blues," "Sobbin' Blues," "Farewell Blues" and two versions of "Snag It"). With such sidemen as trombonist Kid Ory, clarinetists Albert Nicholas and Omer Simeon and Barney Bigard on tenor and clarinet, Oliver's suppporting cast is quite strong. The cornetist was himself starting to fade during this period but does take a few heated solos and his break on "Snag It" remains quite famous. True King Oliver collectors, though, will want to bypass this one and instead acquire the entries in one of the more comprehensive European complete series. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for King Oliver

Product Info

  • UPC: 011105061629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)