Soundtrack Victory at Sea (Music from the Original Television Series) [1992]

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.3
38 ratings
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  RCAV 60963
Amazon sells this CD for $12.44, buying at saves you 28%

CD Details

  • Released: August 11, 1992
  • Label: RCA Victor


  • 1.Victory at Sea: Song of the High Seas
  • 2.Victory at Sea: The Pacific boils over
  • 3.Victory at Sea: Guadalcanal March
  • 4.Victory at Sea: D-Day
  • 5.Victory at Sea: Hard Work and Horseplay
  • 6.Victory at Sea: Theme of the Fast Carriers
  • 7.Victory at Sea: Beneath the Southern Cross
  • 8.Victory at Sea: Mare Nostrum
  • 9.Victory at Sea: Victory at Sea
  • 10.Victory at Sea: Fire on the Waters
  • 11.Victory at Sea: Danger Down Deep
  • 12.Victory at Sea: Mediterranean Mosaic
  • 13.Victory at Sea: The Magnetic North

Product Description:

The 1952 NBC series Victory at Sea was one of the earliest network documentary series to capture the public's imagination in a serious way, and one of the more enduring offshoots was the music by Richard Rodgers, which was recorded by RCA-Victor in what ultimately became a series of four LPs. Rodgers was chosen by series producer Henry Salamon based on his being the "leading American composer of his day," a somewhat exalted (though understandable) judgement for a man who was most closely associated with the Broadway stage and Hollywood. Rodgers devised a straightforward melodic score whose most inspired moments (such as the main title theme) seem to have been lifted from the early work of Ralph Vaughan Williams. The albums were popular, probably due in part to the fact that a lot of veterans owned stereo systems in the late '50s, and these recordings took full advantage of stereo's two-channel sound separation. The Dolby Surround remastering preserves the luster of the original LPs, and the stereo separation recalls the days when that kind of effect was, in and of itself, a conversation piece. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 38 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Soundtrack

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 34,625
  • UPC: 090266096329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: