More Victory at Sea (Music from the Original Television Series)
by Various Artists

More Victory at Sea (Music from the Original
21 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  XD67
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: RCA Victor


  • Buy for $0.991.Victory at Sea: Allies on the March
  • Buy for $0.992.Victory at Sea: Voyage into Fate
  • Buy for $0.993.Victory at Sea: Peleliu
  • Buy for $0.994.Victory at Sea: The sound of victory
  • Buy for $0.995.Victory at Sea: Rings around Rabaul
  • Buy for $0.996.Victory at Sea: Full fathom five
  • Buy for $0.997.Victory at Sea: The Turkey Shoot
  • Buy for $0.998.Victory at Sea: Ships that pass
  • Buy for $0.999.Victory at Sea: Two if by sea
  • Buy for $0.9910.Victory at Sea: The turning point
  • 11.Victory at Sea: Symphonic scenario

Product Description:

This recording also includes authentic World War II surround-sound battle effects, explosions and fly-overs.
Back in the early '60s, RCA-Victor must've felt like they'd stumbled into a gold mine with their television soundtracks, what with Henry Mancini's music from the series Peter Gunn, which yielded a hit single and a second LP of music, and Richard Rodgers' music from Victory at Sea. The latter documentary series, running 26 half-hours, originally aired on NBC in 1952-1953, but it was even re-cut for theatrical release at one point and was re-show in its entirety in syndication on local television stations right into the mid-'60s; and Robert Russell Bennett's arrangements of the Rodgers music yielded a string of hit albums, four in number, recorded in the mid-'50s and showcasing the label's "Living Stereo" sound reproduction. This CD contains another 67 minutes' worth of music from the series, and strangely enough it is slightly more appealing than the first volume. The main body of the CD is still weak by any musical standard, the best moments in the music sounding like they're lifted from Ralph Vaughan Williams' compositions, but there are a few tracks that stand up. "Peleliu" is a genuinely exciting piece of music and, in contrast to many of the other tracks here, is a single cohesive body of music. On the other hand, "The Sound of Victory" offers some unfortunate dance digressions and otherwise comes off as distinctly light music. And some tracks, such as "Rings Around Rabaul" and "The Turning Point" feature some intrusive "special effects battle sounds" that add nothing to the listening experience or the music. The one track that makes this volume marginally more worthwhile than its companion, however, is the ten-minute long "Symphonic Scenario," which sums up the most compelling and sweeping parts of Rodgers' score without any of the banalities or distractions of the rest of these two volumes. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.4
Based on 21 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 090266096428
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)