Slim Smith 20 Super Hits

20 Super Hits
Price: $11.68
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  KCJA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 1, 1991
  • Label: Sonic Sounds


  • 1.My Conversation
  • 2.The Beattitude
  • 3.Give Me Some More of Your Loving
  • 4.Build My World Around You
  • 5.Let Me Go Girl
  • 6.Version of Love
  • 7.Please Don't Go
  • 8.Girl of My Dream
  • 9.If It Don't Work Out
  • 10.Where Do I Turn
  • 11.Will You Still Love Me
  • 12.Rain from the Skies
  • 13.Sitting in the Park
  • 14.Love Power
  • 15.Travel One
  • 16.Time Has Come
  • 17.Stand up and Fight
  • 18.My Woman's Love
  • 19.I'm Gonna Make You Love Me
  • 20.Out of Love
  • 21.I'm Lost
  • 22.Keep That Light
  • 23.Three Times Seven
  • 24.Watch This Sound
  • 25.[Untitled Track]
  • 26.[Untitled Track]

Product Description:

Personnel: Slim Smith (vocals).
Editor: Michael Rankine.
Arranger: Blackbeard.
While the title only lists Slim Smith's name, this collection also includes work the singer did with the Uniques from 1967-1969. A minor quibble, really, in light of the fact there's a wealth of Smith's stunning solo sides to be had. And while he first went solo under both Clement Dodd and Duke Reid, Smith's work for producer Bunny Lee can be counted as some of his best. The Uniques tracks here include such classics as "My Conversation," "The Beatitude," and "Never Let Me Go," as well as rare items like "Watch This Sound" and "I'm Lost." Of the solo sides for Lee, the pick of the lot are such later tracks as "Love Power," "Travel On," and "Stand Up and Fight." These early-'70s sessions also featured indelible treatments of Billy Stewart's "Sitting in the Park" and the Gamble & Huff gem "I'm Gonna Make You Love Me." This is a solid collection for those seeking an overview of Smith's work from 1967 until his tragic death in 1973. For more on both Smith's solo sides and his work with the Uniques, check out the Trojan discs Rain From the Skies and The Best of the Uniques (1967-1969). ~ Stephen Cook

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Slim Smith

Product Info

  • UPC: 716161000420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)