Tomita kosmos

Tomita: kosmos
13 ratings
Price: $9.59
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  362Y9
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: RCA


  • Buy for $0.991.Star Wars, Episode IV: A New Hope, film score: Star Wars Main Title
  • Buy for $0.992.Space Fantasy on Themes by Wagner and R. Strauss for electronic sound
  • Buy for $0.993.Pacific 231, symphonic movement for orchestra (Mouvement symphonique No. 1), H53
  • Buy for $0.994.Unanswered Question, The (I & II), for trumpet, winds & string orchestra, S. 50 (K. 1C25)
  • Buy for $0.995.Concierto de Aranjuez, for guitar & orchestra: Aranjuez-Adagio
  • Buy for $0.996.Peer Gynt, incidental music, Op. 23: Solveig's Song
  • Buy for $0.997.Hora Staccato for violin & piano (or orchestra)
  • 8.Sea Named "Solaris", The (J.S. Bach)

Product Description:

Composers: Honegger; Grigoras Dinicu ; John Williams ; Rodrigo ; Tomita; Jascha Heifetz ; Charles Ives .
Personnel: Tomita (keyboards, synthesizer).
Audio Remixer: Nate Johnson.
Recording information: 1977.
Isao Tomita is a brilliant interpreter. He has transcribed several classical and orchestral works for the synthesizer. Kosmos is a slick album of those works that translate well to Tomita's spacescapes and his visionary style. These pieces had acoustic atmospheric resonance in their original formats. Tomita's synthesized versions have all of the original bravado and essence and he has added ambient atmospheres to give each piece new meaning and depth. The modernized pieces are genuine spacescapes. The disc opens, somewhat predictably, with John Williams' "Star Wars Theme." Tomita's lighthearted version adds humor to the piece. Track two, "Space Fantasy," just might be Tomita's best work. He combines elements from "Thus Spake Zoroaster" by Richard Strauss and "Ride of the Valkyries" and "Tannhauser Overture," both by Richard Wagner. The depth of this performance on this is amazing. Arthur Honegger's "Pacific 231" is an excellent transitional piece. Experimental sounds give it an avant-garde feel. "The Unanswered Question" by Charles Ives is pure atmospheric minimalism in both its original and electronic form. Ives was a risk-taker and one of the foremost avant-garde composers of his time; he would like this treatment. Rodrigo's "Aranjuez" takes on new beauty and character in Tomita's translation. Teamed with Ives' piece and the next piece, this is the travel and exploration leg of the journey. Edvard Grieg's "Solveig's Song" from "The Peer Gynt Suite" has tremendous atmospheric qualities also. While the journey continues, so does the beauty. "Hora Staccato" represents an end or a milestone of the journey. This Grigoras Dinicu/Jascha Heifetz piece is brisk and energetic. "The Sea Named Solaris" is based on Johann Sebastian Bach's "Three Part Invention, No. 2" and"Ich Ruf zu Dir, Jesu Christ." Tomita also wrote some of the music for this piece. It is a beautiful finish to a wondrous journey. This is one of the strongest albums in Tomita's discography. Only the work of Wendy Carlos can compare to Tomita's work. ~ Jim Brenholts

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Tomita

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 69,725
  • UPC: 078635261622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)