Merle Haggard The Music of Merle Haggard: The Epic Years (3-CD Box Set)

Rating 5.0
2 ratings
List Price: $29.98
SALE PRICE: $26.98
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (3 Discs)
Item:  EPIC 776095

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: October 5, 2010
  • Label: Epic

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Man from Another Time
  • 2.My Mary
  • 3.It's All in the Game
  • 4.You Nearly Lose Your Mind
  • 5.Nobody's Darlin' But Mine
  • 6.Blue Yodel No. 2
  • 7.Trouble in Mind
  • 8.The Old Watermill
  • 9.Big Butter and Egg Man
  • 10.Pennies from Heaven
  • 11.Thank Heaven for Little Girls
  • 12.There, I've Said It Again
  • 13.This Cold War with You
  • 14.Making Believe
  • 15.That's the Way Love Goes

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Good Old American Guest
  • 2.Big City
  • 3.Are the Good Times Really Over (I Wish a Buck Was Still Silver)
  • 4.My Favorite Memory
  • 5.I Always Get Lucky with You
  • 6.Going Where the Lonely Go
  • 7.What Am I Gonna Do (With the Rest of My Life)
  • 8.Someday When Things Are Good
  • 9.Shopping for Dresses
  • 10.Let's Chase Each Other Around the Room
  • 11.I Had a Beautiful Time
  • 12.Twinkle, Twinkle Lucky Star
  • 13.Kern River
  • 14.Chill Factor
  • 15.This Song Is Mine

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Pancho and Lefty
  • 2.Yesterday's Wine
  • 3.I Can't Hold Myself in Line
  • 4.Reasons to Quit
  • 5.A Place to Fall Apart
  • 6.Little Hotel Room
  • 7.Jimmy the Broom
  • 8.C.C. Waterback
  • 9.Carolyn
  • 10.Why Do I Have to Choose
  • 11.Must've Been Drunk
  • 12.Natural High
  • 13.Turnin' Off a Memory
  • 14.I Won't Give Up My Train
  • 15.Silver Wings

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Rich Kienzle.
Photographers: Piper Ferguson; John Reggero; Zigy Kaluzny; Randee St. Nicholas; Mark E. Gibson; Marc Morrison.
When Merle Haggard signed with Epic Records in 1981 he was a bona fide country star, if not quite an icon yet (that would happen in the 1990s when his influence was everywhere with country's new stars -- although he would no longer see much chart success in country's contemporary incarnation). The key thing for Haggard with Epic was that he was given permission to produce his own records, which led to leaner and more stripped-down tracks, and the 1980s found him at a creative peak, even if the hits were starting to slow down. This three-disc set surveys his Epic years and includes classics like Haggard's duet with George Jones on "Yesterday's Wine" from 1982 and a duet with Willie Nelson on Townes Van Zant's "Pancho and Lefty" from 1985. This collection is a great way to hear how Haggard himself preferred to present his songs. ~ Steve Leggett
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Merle Haggard

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 57,407
  • UPC: 886977609527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.38/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

Top ranking CD: