Frank Sinatra The Essential Frank Sinatra: The Columbia Years [2-CD] (2-CD)

The Essential Frank Sinatra: The Columbia Years
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  9K24
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 25, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Sony

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.All or Nothing at All
  • 2.If You Are But a Dream
  • 3.Night and Day
  • 4.Sweet Lorraine
  • 5.Guess I'll Hang My Tears Out to Dry
  • 6.Nancy (With the Laughing Face)
  • 7.The House I Live In
  • 8.Blue Skies
  • 9.There's No You
  • 10.When Your Lover Has Gone
  • 11.Stormy Weather
  • 12.The Nearness of You
  • 13.These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)
  • 14.Saturday Night (Is the Loneliest Night in the Week)
  • 15.Where or When
  • 16.Someone to Watch Over Me
  • 17.Put Your Dreams Away (For Another Day)
  • 18.All of Me

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.There's No Business Like Show Business
  • 2.Fallin' in Love with You
  • 3.You Go to My Head
  • 4.Everybody Loves Somebody
  • 5.I Believe
  • 6.Why Was I Born?
  • 7.I've Got a Crush on You
  • 8.Body and Soul
  • 9.That Old Feeling
  • 10.Almost Like Being in Love
  • 11.September Song
  • 12.It Never Entered My Mind
  • 13.I Only Have Eyes for You
  • 14.The Song Is You
  • 15.Don't Cry Joe (Let Her Go, Let Her Go, Let Her Go)
  • 16.It All Depends on You
  • 17.The Continental
  • 18.I'm a Fool to Want You

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
Recording information: 01/29/1945; 03/27/1951; 03/31/1947; 04/24/1950; 05/01/1945; 07/10/1949; 07/30/1945; 07/30/1946; 08/08/1946; 08/11/1947; 08/11/1974; 08/22/1945; 08/22/1946; 08/27/1945; 08/31/1939; 10/19/1947; 10/22/1947; 10/26/1947; 10/31/1946; 11/05/1947; 11/08/1947; 11/14/1944; 12/03/1944; 12/04/1947; 12/17/1946; 12/19/1944; 12/28/1947.
Arranger: Axel Stordahl.
The beauty of any Frank Sinatra collection is that, depending upon how it is put together by the producers for whatever purpose they have in mind, each one allows the listener to focus on a different aspect of the singer's work and pick out new and varied details. On one level, this double-CD set is a good compromise for listeners who aren't prepared to spring for a four-disc collection (much less a complete set of Columbia recordings), but want something that goes a little deeper into his output than any of the single-CD compilations of Sinatra's Columbia sides. The portrait constituted by this release may also perhaps be a little confusing -- for those expecting a step-by-step account of the man's music -- due to the fact that it doesn't follow anything resembling strict chronological order; just two songs past "All or Nothing at All" (done with the Harry James band), we're into "Sweet Lorraine" from a half-decade later, and "The House I Live In" -- which is buried pretty deeply on most hits compilations -- is given almost a place of honor here as the seventh song on Disc One, well ahead of "All of Me" and more familiar fare. And this order works, stirring up the pot of Sinatra's most familiar fare of the era into new shapes and juxtapositions, so what we end up with is an engaging and informative, slightly abstract "portrait" of the singer in all of his different manifestations and settings -- big band, small group etc. As with most Sinatra Columbia collections, the emphasis is on ballads, though even here he surprises us with some of the entries in the latter category -- the way Sinatra sings it, the normally jaunty entertainment anthem "There's No Business Like Show Business" comes off like a ballad, at least in its first half, and with his voice, it does work that way. And with the remastering at such a high level of quality, the presence of The Voice -- but also the band, of whatever size -- is close and bracing. The annotation, featuring an essay by pop music maven Will Friedwald, is thorough, informative, and highly entertaining. [This collection was previously released as Portrait of Sinatra: Columbia Classics, and is entirely different from an identically titled 2003 collection that included only one disc.] ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Frank Sinatra

Product Info

  • UPC: 886977867323
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)