The JB's Food For Funk

Food For Funk
Price: $27.88
List Price: $30.98
You Save: $3.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SC8S
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 20, 2005
  • Label: P-Vine Japan


  • 1.Givin' Up Food for Funk, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 2.All Aboard the Funky Soul Train
  • 3.Stand Up and Be Counted
  • 4.My Lonely Hour
  • 5.Back Stabbers
  • 6.Watermelon Man
  • 7.Cross the Track (We Better Go Back)
  • 8.Future Shock (Dance Your Pants Off)
  • 9.I Won't Last a Day Without You
  • 10.Hang out and Hustle
  • 11.Together
  • 12.Everybody Got Soul

Product Description:

This is a solidly, downright nasty-groovin' compilation of tracks associated with James Brown. the JB's, the Flames, Maceo Parker, Fred Wesley and Sweet Charles are here, laying out A- and B-sides of Brown's tunes, as well as solo issues recorded during the '70s. Anyone who could seriously consider this as filler material has no imagination, and no backbone for slipping and sliding. The music here is 100-percent killer and no filler. Brown wrote some of the cuts here, but even those he had nothing to do with, such as tracks by the Flames, or even the Curtis Mayfield-penned "Future Shock" recorded by Parker, have a firm funk footprint all over them, trademarked by Brown. Issued on CD by Japan's excellent P-Vine label, this one is well worth seeking out. Break a sweat, y'all. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The JB's

Product Info

  • UPC: 4995879013625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)