The Spiders Complete Imperial Recordings [Import]

Complete Imperial Recordings [Import]
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $49.99
Sale: $44.99
SUPER SAVINGS: $41.84 Limited Time Only
You Save: $8.15 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  XDKA
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 10, 1992
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Didn't Want to Do It
  • 2.You're the One
  • 3.For a Thrill
  • 4.Mellow Mama
  • 5.Lost and Bewildered (Slowly Losing My Mind)
  • 6.Tears Begin to Flow (Sneaky Pete)
  • 7.Why Do I Love You
  • 8.Love's All I'm Puttin' Down
  • 9.I'll Stop Crying
  • 10.Mmm Mmm Baby (Hey Baby)
  • 11.I'm Slippin' In
  • 12.Mmm Mmm Baby
  • 13.Walking Around in Circles
  • 14.I'm Searchin'
  • 15.The Real Thing
  • 16.She Keeps Me Wondering
  • 17.17.21 (3x7=21)
  • 18.That's Enough
  • 19.Sukey, Sukey, Sukey
  • 20.Bells in My Heart
  • 21.Am I the One
  • 22.Don't Knock
  • 23.John the Revelator
  • 24.Bye and Bye

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.(True) You Don't Love Me
  • 2.Witchcraft
  • 3.You Played the Part
  • 4.Is It True (A Little Bird Told Me)
  • 5.How I Feel
  • 6.That's the Way to Win My Heart
  • 7.Goodbye
  • 8.I'll Be Free
  • 9.Don't Pity Me
  • 10.Dear Mary
  • 11.A-1 in My Heart
  • 12.Without Love
  • 13.Someday Bye and Bye
  • 14.That's My Desire
  • 15.Better Be on My Way
  • 16.Honey Bee
  • 17.I'm Glad For Your Sake
  • 18.Poor Boy
  • 19.The Bells Are Ringing
  • 20.I Miss You
  • 21.Times
  • 22.You're the One
  • 23.Tennessee Slim

Product Description:

The Spiders include: Chuck Carbo, Chick Carbo, Red Tyler, Dave Bartholomew.
Contains 47 tracks recorded between 1954 and 1963. Includes a booklet with a sessionography and liner notes.
The Spiders' first Imperial session was a split one in which they recorded two gospel songs as the Delta Southernaires and two R&B songs as the Spiders. The latter two, "I Didn't Want to Do It" b/w "You're the One," became a big double-sided hit in 1954, launching the career of one of New Orleans' preeminent vocal groups and permanently sidetracking their gospel music ambitions. (A year later, the El Dorados reworked "I Didn't Want to Do It" into the R&B chart-topper "At My Front Door"). The Spiders scored three more Top Ten hits through 1955 before falling off the charts, then stayed together for another year until lead singer Chuck Carbo went solo. The Imperial Sessions is a two-disc set that compiles the group's complete Imperial recordings from 1953-1960, including the two Delta Southernaires cuts and four of Carbo's solo sides. Dave Bartholomew produced the sessions and wrote many of the group's songs, although a former Delta Southernaires guitarist named Adolph Smith penned the first two hits and most of their early material. Tensions between Carbo and the rest of the group are evident on the Spiders' recordings as early as 1954; Imperial was pressuring him to leave the group, and songs such as "I'll Stop Crying" and "For a Thrill," which feature Carbo's double-tracked vocals, are practically solo records despite appearing under the Spiders' name. The group alternated harmony-laden ballads with sometimes risqu‚ novelties such as "The Real Thing," a double-entendre song about "my ding-a-ling" like the Bees' "Toy Bell" (another one of Bartholomew's productions). Carbo and the group tried out some new sounds on their later recordings, from the countrified "Dear Mary" to a cover of a the Easy Riders' folk song "Times." The Spiders re-formed in 1960 for a final two-song session that produced the Willie Mabon-inspired "Tennessee Slim," after which the members went their various ways. The Imperial Sessions is an encyclopedic and pricey anthology of the Spiders' original recordings that will particularly intrigue listeners with an interest in New Orleans' Cosimo studio and the doings of Dave Bartholomew. ~ Greg Adams
Bear Family Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Spiders

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 90,889
  • UPC: 4000127156730
  • Shipping Weight: 0.42/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)