Mickey Baker Rock with a Sock (2-CD)

Rock with a Sock (2-CD)
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $22.49
SUPER SAVINGS: $15.69 Limited Time Only
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $9.30 (37% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  XDK8
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 1, 1993
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Guitar Mambo
  • 2.Riverboat
  • 3.Love Me Baby
  • 4.Oh Happy Day
  • 5.Where Is My Honey
  • 6.I'm Tired
  • 7.Stranger Blues
  • 8.I Wish I Knew
  • 9.Down to the Bottom
  • 10.You Better Heed My Warning
  • 11.Midnight Hours
  • 12.Please Tell Me
  • 13.Shake Walkin'
  • 14.Greasy Spoon
  • 15.Bandstand Stomp (Ho Ho Ho)
  • 16.Rock With a Sock
  • 17.Old Devil Moon
  • 18.Guitarambo
  • 19.Spinnin' Rock Boogie
  • 20.Chloe
  • 21.Ghost of a Chance
  • 22.The Man I Love
  • 23.Bobi
  • 24.Hello Stranger
  • 25.My Love
  • 26.Woe, Woe Is Me
  • 27.Can't Get You on the Phone
  • 28.I'll Always Want You Near

Product Description:

Recorded between 1952 and 1957 for Savoy, Rainbow, MGM, Groove, Vik and RCA Victor.
Personnel: Mickey Baker (guitar).
Liner Note Author: Kurt Mohr.
Illustrator: Mickey Baker.
Photographer: Mickey Baker.
Though forever best known to casual fans as half of Mickey and Sylvia, whose 1957 single "Love Is Strange" was one of the decade's most peculiar and bewitching sides, McHouston "Mickey" Baker has spent decades on the bar and theatre circuit as one of the most original and distinctive guitarists in R&B. His enormous musical gifts are readily apparent on his 1994 release ROCK WITH A SOCK; these 28 tracks run an amazing stylistic gamut, from the Latin-flavored instrumental "Guitar Mambo" through the gospel-tinged "Oh Happy Day" to the smoking gutbucket solos that pepper bluesy tunes like "Old Devil Moon" and "You'd Better Heed My Warning." His vocals, as on the standard "Where Is My Honey" have lost none of their casual charm, either. ROCK WITH A SOCK is a rewarding R&B album.
Bear Family Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Mickey Baker

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 132,036
  • UPC: 4000127156549
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)