Matt Molloy Heathery Breeze

Rating 5.0
2 ratings
List Price: $17.98
Your Price: $16.18
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Item:  SHA 79064
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Shanachie


  • Buy for $0.991.Moving Cloud
  • Buy for $0.992.The Bush In Bloom / Drogheda Bay / Jenny's Chickens
  • Buy for $0.993.Heathery Breeze / Long Strand
  • Buy for $0.994.Slieve Russell / Jimmy Wards J.G.
  • Buy for $0.995.Drowsie Maggie
  • Buy for $0.996.Silver Slipper / Frieze Britches
  • Buy for $0.997.The Hare in the Heather
  • Buy for $0.998.Idir Deighric 'Gus Breo'
  • Buy for $0.999.The Contradiction / Yellow Tinker
  • Buy for $0.9910.Fisherman's / Ship In Full Sail / Out On The Ocean
  • Buy for $0.9911.'Good Morning, Nightcap?' / 'Bohola'
  • Buy for $0.9912.Spoil the Dance

Product Description:

Irish flutist Matt Molloy is best known as a member of the Chieftains, but his solo albums are deserving of much more attention than they generally get. On Heathery Breeze Molloy is accompanied only sparely, by Donal Lunny on guitar, bouzouki, and synthesizer and, on a couple of tracks, by guitarist Michael O'Domhnaill. The album opens with one of the most beautiful tunes in the Irish repertoire, "Moving Cloud," which Molloy plays with offhanded grace at a hair-raising tempo; he dispatches "The Bush in Bloom" and the title track with similar ease and aplomb. But the album's most inspiring moments come later, when the tempos ease and the mood darkens a bit. Molloy's mid-tempo interpretations of the modal slip jigs "Silver Slipper" and "Frieze Britches" are revelatory, as is his highly ornamented but generally restrained rendition of "The Hare in the Heather." The album ends with an almost hornpipey take on a reel entitled "Spoil the Dance." Very highly recommended, though not to Irish flutists with tender egos. ~ Rick Anderson
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Matt Molloy

Product Info:

  • UPC: 016351796424
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item