Annbjørg Lien Felefeber (Norwegian Fiddle Fantasia)

Felefeber (Norwegian Fiddle Fantasia)
Rating 4.2
4 ratings
Your Price: $21.31
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  35F24
on most orders of $50
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Shanachie

Entertainment Reviews:

Jazziz - 10/95, p.45
"...this is a relaxed album with no fast dance tunes or dazzling displays of hot licks. Instead there are thoughtful arrangements with Lien accompanied by guitar, mandolin, flute, and/or church organ..."


  • Buy for $0.991.The Water Lily
  • Buy for $0.992.Halling After Ola Mosafinn
  • Buy for $0.993.Springar After Kristiane Lund
  • Buy for $0.994.Fiddle Fever / Fiddlemania
  • Buy for $0.995.The Battle of the Drones
  • Buy for $0.996.The Lost Sheep
  • Buy for $0.997.The Plucked Halling
  • Buy for $0.998.The Moose Hunter
  • Buy for $0.999.A Little Child
  • Buy for $0.9910.Dragos
  • Buy for $0.9911.The Nordfjord Halling
  • Buy for $0.9912.The Hildale Man
  • Buy for $0.9913.Amen
  • Buy for $0.9914.The Miller Boy's Bridal March

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Annbjorg Lien (fiddle).
Recorded in 1994.
The first album that Annbjorg Lien released after her attention-getting appearance on The Sweet Sunny North is a virtuoso performance from start to finish. Norwegian fiddling is less fast and flashy than Celtic or Appalachian styles, concentrating on delicate nunaces of tone rather than lightning-fast runs, and Annbjorg pulled out a set of beautiful and meditative pieces for this release. Her original compositions are arrestingly lovely, with the sleepy sounding title track sounding a bit like a Scottish lament played by a playful and creative pair of musicians. Elsewhere she plays solemn traditional hymns and sprightly folk tunes with vaguely Eastern European sounding time changes. The standout track is "The Plucked Halling," a musical tribute to a virtuoso fiddler who was renowned for his mastery of technically challenging tunes. This track quite appropriately strings together over a dozen different melodies in quick succession, and does it with a stately grace that is amazing to hear. Felefeber was a splendid breakout album, and a perfectly balanced and expertly played work that arrived just when it would be most noticed. ~ Richard Foss

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:

Product Info:

  • UPC: 016351646026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item