The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion Controversial Negro: Live in Tucson

Controversial Negro: Live in Tucson
4 ratings
Price: $11.77
You Save: $0.22 (2% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  337H8
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 18, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Shout Factory

Entertainment Reviews:

Pitchfork (Website) - "[A] thrilling peak-era performance from one of the best live bands of its time..."


  • 1.Get with It
  • 2.Can't Stop
  • 3.Son of Sam
  • 4.Cool Vee
  • 5.Afro
  • 6.R.L. Got Soul
  • 7.Blues X Man
  • 8.Watermain
  • 9.Love All of Me
  • 10.Fuck Shit Up
  • 11.Hot Shot
  • 12.Skunk
  • 13.The Vacuum of Loneliness
  • 14.Sticky
  • 15.Bellbottoms
  • 16.The Feeling of Love
  • 17.Down Low
  • 18.Dynamite Lover
  • 19.Flavor
  • 20.Full Grown
  • 21.Train #2
  • 22.Train #3
  • 23.Soul Typecast
  • 24.Support a Man
  • 25.Greyhound
  • 26.Sweat
  • 27.Backslider
  • 28.'78 Style
  • 29.Dissect

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Fred Kevorkian.
Liner Note Author: Mike Edison .
Recording information: DPC, Tucson, AZ (10/30/1994); The Hotel Congress, Tucson, AZ (10/30/1994); DPC, Tucson, AZ (11/25/1996); The Hotel Congress, Tucson, AZ (11/25/1996).
Photographers: Ali Smith; Christian Lantry.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Judah Bauer; Russell Simins.
Love them or hate them, the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion put on one hell of a show. Controversial Negro, originally a promo-only LP issued by the fine folks at Matador Records, has now been given the CD treatment, appearing as a Japanese import much to the joy of hungry fans unable to find a copy of the original limited edition pressing. The record is a document of one of the Blues Explosion's legendary live rock bonanzas, but in the end it is also a case of a "you had to be there" sort of event. Live, ($Spencer)'s wild antics: dancing, preaching, climbing things, and whatnot, come off like a fabulous circus gone awry. On record, the visual element is gone and all that remains is the group's playing, an aspect that, intentionally or not, tends to be pretty sloppy live. This is not to say that JSBX come off like a bad talent show contestant, but more that in the case of a rollicking good time the intricacies of the music often fall to the wayside. On the energetic opening "Get With It," the howling "Skunk," and a number of other tracks, the band rocks pretty forcefully, and though the actual recording is occasionally muddied up a bit due to the lack of any real low end, the songs for the most part are still highly entertaining. Even second guitarist Judah Bauer's turn in the spotlight on "Fuck Shit Up" comes across pretty convincingly, as the screamed lyrics take center stage instead of Spencer's outlandish physical behavior. Controversial Negro is the live record only JSBX could make; like their shows it contains a lot more rock than blues and plenty of noisy howls and bursts of feedback. It's still a far cry from the actual experience, but the record succeeds in transferring as much of the original event's ragged glory as the medium will allow. ~ Peter J. D'Angelo

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion

Product Info

  • UPC: 826663118162
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)