The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion Dirty Shirt Rock 'n' Roll: The First Ten Years

Dirty Shirt Rock 'n' Roll: The First Ten Years
3 ratings
Only 5 copies left
Price: $11.77
You Save: $0.22 (2% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  337GX
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Shout Factory

Entertainment Reviews:

Pitchfork (Website) - "[T]he comp holds together remarkably well, like a good live setlist or a friend's mixtape....This music is just as exciting and alienating now as it was then."
Clash (magazine) - "[W]ith screeching and unsettling rockabilly howls one minute, and gigantic delta-blues hip-hop grooves the next. As gratingly brash as it is funky, this is a mighty shortcut through a brilliantly twisted back catalogue."
Uncut (magazine) - p.100
4 stars out of 5 -- "[With] numerous hip-shaking garage-blues classics such as 'Magical Colours' and 'Bellbottoms.'"


  • 1.Chicken Dog
  • 2.Magical Colors
  • 3.Money Rock'n'Roll
  • 4.Love Ain't on the Run
  • 5.Blues X Man
  • 6.Buscemi
  • 7.Bellbottoms
  • 8.History of Sex
  • 9.Fuck Shit Up - (live)
  • 10.Leave Me Alone So I Can Rock Again
  • 11.Shake 'Em on Down
  • 12.Train #2
  • 13.Water Main
  • 14.Hell
  • 15.Wail [Video Mix] - (remix)
  • 16.Afro
  • 17.Greyhound
  • 18.Talk About the Blues
  • 19.Flavor [Remix-Promo Single Edit] - (remix)
  • 20.Feeling of Love
  • 21.Lap Dance
  • 22.She Said [Single Edit]

Product Description:

Personnel: Jon Spencer (vocals, guitar, Theremin); Judah Baker (vocals, guitar); Russell Simins (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Fred Kevorkian.
Liner Note Author: Mike Edison .
Photographers: Ali Smith; Michael Lavine; C. Taylor Crothers; Suze Dodd; Stephanie Cherinkowski; Stefan Judge; Danny Clinch; Joe Dilworth.
We needed this. The excellent Jukebox Explosion, which collected all the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion's singles, was released in 2007, and it was a serious boon for those who didn't have access to turntables or decent record stores. What we didn't have was a representative portrait of the insane mind-explosion wildness, shambolically combustible diversity, and bravado that could never be contained on a single album by the band. Each record was as different as the collective waste-oid mood that Spencer, Judah Bauer, and Russell Simins shifted. This massive 22-track set collects many of the group's album tracks -- sequenced by Spencer -- that capture the entire range of the psychotic, roots-drenched roar that was JSBE. Spencer's band was able to take roots rock, blues, R&B, and even funk and twist and turn them into something simultaneously ugly and irresistibly seductive. Check the opener, "Chicken Dog," where, assisted by the great Rufus Thomas, they managed a Memphis rock & roll not heard since the Panther Burns' earliest days, pasted onto a two-chord riff and taut, slamming beat with a huffing bag's worth of airplane glue. It's followed by "Magical Colors," with Spencer vampirically hosting the ghost of Mick Jagger (… la Emotional Rescue) and marrying it to Memphis soul, slippery guitar, and bass riffs that the Rolling Stones are no longer capable of. Contrast this with the rage of "History of Sex," from 1991, where punk rock and early Chicago blues hook up against a wall for some filthy fun in a glass-strewn alley on a sweat-drenched summer night. The polluted funk of "Afro," from 1993, contains sampled flute sounds, a monolithic bass vamp, and a B-3 cranking over the wah-wah guitar. Spencer alternately croons and growls all but indecipherable lyrics before his ten-second guitar solo turns everything within earshot into nuclear waste. Check the clavinet funk in "Buscemi" and the use of strings in "Bellbottoms" for further evidence of murky devil funk and groove consciousness, where the beat is as big -- and real -- as the boast. "Shake 'Em on Down" is here in edited form from the A Ass Pocket of Whiskey collaboration with R.L. Burnside, as is "Love Ain't on the Run" from the unholy union between JSBE and the Dub Narcotic Sound System. These songs are two versions of the blues that conjure the spirits of the Delta via misanthropic musi-erotic fantasies of forbidden unions in the dimly lit juke joints from Spencer and his mates' collective imagination. Some see irony in JSBE's music. It's there but not because of amplified imitation; it's mockery of how far rock & roll had traveled from its origins. For ten years, JSBE gave indie rock, grunge, and everything that came after a gigantic, righteous middle finger. This big-slice reminder of that is exactly what we need in the 21st century when the wildness inherent in rock's backbone has all but utterly disintegrated. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 97,335
  • UPC: 826663117097
  • Shipping Weight: 0.17/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)