Houston Might Be Heaven: Rockin' R&B in Texas 1947-1951 (4-CD)
by Various Artists

Houston Might Be Heaven: Rockin' R&B in Texas
15 copies available
Sale: $26.09
SUPER SAVINGS: $24.26 Limited Time Only
List Price: $28.99
You Save: $4.73 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  HVW6
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: April 11, 2011
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Little Willie's Boogie
  • 2.My Best Wishes - Little Willie Littlefield
  • 3.Got a Feelin' You're Foolin' - Blip Thompkins
  • 4.Everything's Been Done Before - Blip Thompkins
  • 5.Hattie Green
  • 6.I Cried
  • 7.Jelly Roll
  • 8.Louisiana Boogie
  • 9.Goin' Down to Nashville - Carlo Campbell
  • 10.Oo Wee Baby
  • 11.In a Boogie Moon
  • 12.She's So Fine - Clarence Garlow
  • 13.Jumpin' the Blues
  • 14.Your Little Girl Is Gone
  • 15.Love's a Gamble
  • 16.Christmas Blues
  • 17.Far Away Blues
  • 18.Fly Chick Bounce
  • 19.Fisherman's Blues
  • 20.Howling on Dowling
  • 21.Smalley's Jump
  • 22.Young Women's Advice - I.H. Smalley And His Rockateers
  • 23.My Woman Put Me Down - Willie Holiday
  • 24.I've Played This Town
  • 25.Free Way Blues - Robert Smith III

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Rainin' in My Heart
  • 2.My Blues Have Rolled Away
  • 3.Texarkana Bound
  • 4.The Blues Pick on Me
  • 5.Reckless Lover
  • 6.Mabel Mabel
  • 7.Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie
  • 8.Come on Let's Ride
  • 9.I Always End Up Blue
  • 10.I Screamed and I Cried (I Have Often Wondered)
  • 11.Blues Don't Make Me cry
  • 12.Sweet Happy Home
  • 13.Oh I Got the Blues
  • 14.Gonna End My Worries
  • 15.I'm Writing You Baby
  • 16.I Want to See You Baby
  • 17.Fat Girl Boogie
  • 18.Oo-Wee Baby
  • 19.She's My Baby
  • 20.I Wake Up Screaming
  • 21.I'm Telling You People
  • 22.How Long Must I Suffer
  • 23.Got a Big Fine Baby
  • 24.Please Tell Me Baby
  • 25.Lord Have Mercy
  • 26.Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Helpless
  • 2.Down in the Groovy - Lonnie Lyons
  • 3.Boogie Woogie Playgirl - Little Willie Littlefield
  • 4.Swanee River
  • 5.Better Wake Up Baby
  • 6.Real Fine Girl
  • 7.My Baby Loves Me So
  • 8.I'm Just Another Fool
  • 9.Bad Luck Got My Man - The Harlem Stars / Big Mama Thornton
  • 10.All Right Baby - The Harlem Stars / Big Mama Thornton
  • 11.Bad Luck and Trouble
  • 12.Room and Board Boogie
  • 13.Hey Joe
  • 14.Somebody Gotta Go - Clarence Samuels
  • 15.Got a Mean Woman
  • 16.Why Did You Leave Me
  • 17.I Don't Want No Woman
  • 18.Louise
  • 19.Cloudy Weather Blues
  • 20.I'm from Texas
  • 21.(All Alone) I Sit and Cry
  • 22.Six Foot Papa
  • 23.Married Woman Blues
  • 24.Play Boy Blues
  • 25.Sampson St. Boogie
  • 26.Got the Boogie Woogie Blues

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Hard Times
  • 2.Goin' Back Home
  • 3.Change Your Ways
  • 4.Misery Blues - Smokey Hogg
  • 5.Worried Blues
  • 6.You Gotta Go - Smokey Hogg
  • 7.Leaving You Baby
  • 8.I'm in Love with You
  • 9.Saved All My Money
  • 10.I'm Leavin'
  • 11.You Won't Stay Home
  • 12.Why Should I Worry
  • 13.I'm So Lonely
  • 14.Let's Go Back to the Country
  • 15.That's My Baby
  • 16.Hello Baby
  • 17.I Love You Baby, Pt. 1
  • 18.I Love You Baby, Pt. 2
  • 19.What You Gonna Do
  • 20.What in the World Am I Gonna Do
  • 21.Shake a Leg
  • 22.I Often Wonder
  • 23.Miss Georgia
  • 24.She's Always on My Mind
  • 25.Dirty Mistreater
  • 26.I'm Looking for My Baby

Product Description:

Photographers: Joe Houston; Peppermint Harris; Smokey Hogg; Big Mama Thornton.
This interesting box set packages 103 sides of vintage Texas blues, jazz, and early R&B recorded in Houston studios immediately after WWII between 1947 and 1951, a boom time when clubs and independent labels were flourishing in the city, and it ends up being both a musical snapshot of a particular place at a particular time and a fun and varied playlist to listen to -- the box set version of a hat trick. Full of rare sides of boogie piano, uptown blues, and swinging little jazz-blues orchestras, Houston Might Be Heaven has some delightful gems, Carl Campbell's swirling, clarinet-led "Goin' Down to Nashville," L.C. Williams' blues piano ballad "Louise," Smokey Hogg's reckless, loose, and yet somehow endearingly lovely "She's Always on My Mind," and Peppermint Harris' sparse and stately take on "Rainin' in My Heart" among them, all of which show what a fine and bright music scene Houston had going in the postwar period. There's a nice groove to this whole set. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 132,590
  • UPC: 788065778521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.82/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)