Lonnie Johnson A Life in Music Selected Sides 1925-1953 (4-CD Box Set)

A Life in Music Selected Sides 1925-1953 (4-CD
1 rating
Price: $26.08
List Price: $28.98
You Save: $2.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  HVSC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: January 18, 2010
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Won't Don't Blues
  • 2.Mr Johnson's Blues
  • 3.Falling Rain Blues
  • 4.No Good Blues
  • 5.Newport Blues
  • 6.Love Story Blues
  • 7.Nile of Genago
  • 8.To Do This You Gotta Know How
  • 9.South Bound Water
  • 10.I Done Told You
  • 11.Steppin' on the Blues
  • 12.Four Hands Are Better Than Two
  • 13.I Love You Mary Lou
  • 14.Woke Up with the Blues in My Fingers
  • 15.Stay Out of Walnut Street Alley
  • 16.St. Louis Cyclone Blues
  • 17.6/88 Glide
  • 18.Life Saver Blues
  • 19.Untitled Instrumental
  • 20.I'm Not Rough
  • 21.Hotter Than That
  • 22.Savoy Blues
  • 23.Playing with the Strings
  • 24.Stompin' 'Em Along Slow
  • 25.Away Down in the Alley Blues

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Mooche
  • 2.Move Over
  • 3.Hot and Bothered
  • 4.Careless Love
  • 5.Paducah
  • 6.Star Dust
  • 7.Have to Change Key to Play These Blues
  • 8.Jet Black Blues
  • 9.Blue Blood Blues
  • 10.Sitting on Top of the World
  • 11.Kansas City Man Blues
  • 12.A Handful of Riffs
  • 13.She's Makin' Whoopee in Hell Tonight
  • 14.Another Woman Booked Out and Bound to Go
  • 15.Wipe It Off
  • 16.The Dirty Dozen
  • 17.Deep Sea Blues
  • 18.Got the Blues for Murder Only
  • 19.Just a Roamin' Man
  • 20.Jelly Killed Old Sam
  • 21.The Faults of All Women and Men
  • 22.The Best Jockey in Town
  • 23.Uncle Ned Don't Lose Your Head
  • 24.I'm Nuts About That Gal
  • 25.Racketeers Blues

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Man Killing Broad
  • 2.Hard Times Ain't Gone No Where
  • 3.Got the Blues for the West End
  • 4.Why Women Go Wrong
  • 5.Jersey Belle Blues
  • 6.Four-O-Three Blues
  • 7.Crowing Rooster Blues
  • 8.Lazy Woman Blues
  • 9.Chicago Blues
  • 10.From 22 to 44
  • 11.Rambler's Blues
  • 12.Fly Right, Baby
  • 13.He's a Jelly-Roll Baker
  • 14.Watch Shorty
  • 15.Keep What You Got
  • 16.Drifting Along Blues
  • 17.How Could You Be So Mean
  • 18.Rocks in My Bed
  • 19.Love Is the Answer
  • 20.Blues for Everybody
  • 21.Blues in My Soul
  • 22.Your Last Time Out
  • 23.Blues for Lonnie
  • 24.What a Woman
  • 25.Tomorrow Night

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Friendless Blues
  • 2.Falling Rain Blues
  • 3.It's Too Late to Cry
  • 4.Playing Around
  • 5.My My Baby
  • 6.Trouble Ain't Nothing But the Blues
  • 7.Blues Stay Away from Me
  • 8.Nothing But Trouble
  • 9.Old Fashioned Love
  • 10.What Do You Want That I've Got, Pretty Baby
  • 11.Why Should I Cry
  • 12.It Was All in Vain
  • 13.You Only Want Me When You're Lonely
  • 14.Me and My Crazy Self
  • 15.Seven Long Days
  • 16.I'm Guilty
  • 17.Just Another Day
  • 18.You Can't Buy Love
  • 19.Can't Sleep Any More
  • 20.Don't Make Me Cry, Baby
  • 21.My Woman Is Gone
  • 22.Will You Remember
  • 23.Stick with It, Baby
  • 24.I Found a Dream
  • 25.It's Been So Long

Product Description:

Lonnie Johnson was best-known for his tonally beautiful guitar playing, but he was also a fine singer and songwriter, and pretty adept on violin, piano, banjo, mandolin, harmonium, and bass, as well. Equally at home in the blues or the jazz world (he worked with artists as raw as Texas Alexander and as polished as Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington), and even later, the R&B world, Johnson's life as a professional musician began in the mid-'20s and stretched all the way into the '60s, when his career was given an autumnal boost during the folk/blues revival. This four-disc, 100- track box from JSP Records moves chronologically through Johnson's peak years with commercial labels, beginning with tracks like 1925's "Falling Rain Blues," which was cut for OKeh (with Johnson singing and playing violin), through Johnson's gorgeous solo version of W.C. Handy's "Careless Love," also cut for OKeh and released in 1928. The wry and wise "Hard Times Ain't Gone No Where" is included from his stay at Decca Records. Johnson signed to Bluebird Records a year later in 1938 and began playing an amplified guitar. Always in demand on the instrument, Johnson was also a graceful and elegant singer, and his ability to bring an emotional sincerity to blues ballads gave him a hit in 1948 with "Tomorrow Night" when he was signed to King Records. Johnson began using jazzy, horn-based R&B combos toward the end of his stay at King and with his run at Rama Records that followed, and sides like "I'm Guilty," included on disc four here, show just how versatile this amazing musician could be. There are several single-disc releases of Lonnie Johnson's work on the market and casual listeners may well want to start with one of those, since there is a lot of repetition here (none of the musicians from the '20s and '30s could have anticipated having multi-disc box sets), but as an extensive overview of Johnson's peak commercial years, the four-disc A Life in Music is a fascinating listen.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Lonnie Johnson

Product Info

  • UPC: 788065711726
  • Shipping Weight: 0.84/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)