Hollywood Blues: Classic West Coast Blues 1947-1953 (2-CD)
by Various Artists

Hollywood Blues: Classic West Coast Blues
16 copies available
Sale: $22.49
SUPER SAVINGS: $20.91 Limited Time Only
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $4.08 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HVRE
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 19, 2012
  • Label: JSP Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Far East Blues
  • 2.Soldier Boy Houston Blues
  • 3.Quinsella
  • 4.Pretty Woman
  • 5.Got Them Blues
  • 6.When I Get in This House Woman
  • 7.Model T Boogie
  • 8.Hurry Hurry Baby
  • 9.Rampart Street Blues, Pt. 1
  • 10.Shakin' the Boogie - Beverly Scott
  • 11.T.P. Railer
  • 12.Black Snake Blues
  • 13.Skin & Bone - Little Son Willis
  • 14.New Orleans Blues [Tk 1] - James "Little" Houston (take)
  • 15.Little Machine
  • 16.TNT Woman
  • 17.Leavin' Korea
  • 18.Hollywood Blues
  • 19.I'm Going Upstairs - Big Son Tillis
  • 20.Alla Blues - R. Green & Turner
  • 21.Last Affair Blues
  • 22.Night Working Woman
  • 23.Drinking My Last Drink
  • 24.Southern California Blues - Beverly Scott
  • 25.Tricky Woman Blues - Slim Green
  • 26.Old Hen

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Winehead Swing
  • 2.Central Avenue Blues - R. Green & Turner
  • 3.Last Pair of Shoes
  • 4.Lonesome Blues
  • 5.Trailway Bus Station
  • 6.At the Station Crying
  • 7.Worryin' Blues
  • 8.Swimming Pool Blues
  • 9.I Got a Latter
  • 10.Harlem Blues
  • 11.Brownskin Woman
  • 12.Rampart Street Blues, Pt. 2
  • 13.Everything I Do Is Wrong
  • 14.Desert Blues
  • 15.Penitentiary Blues, Pt. 1
  • 16.Penitentiary Blues, Pt. 2
  • 17.Operator Blues
  • 18.New Orleans Blues [Tk 2] - (take)
  • 19.Throw This Poor Dog a Bone
  • 20.Baby I Love You
  • 21.Walking and Crying Blues
  • 22.Big Timing Woman
  • 23.Howling Wolf
  • 24.Come and Go with Me
  • 25.Little Girl Blues
  • 26.Old Hen
  • 27.Hollywood Blues [Fragment]

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Neil Slaven.
Recording information: Los Angeles (04/15/1952); Oakland (04/15/1952); San Francisco (04/15/1952); Los Angeles (1947-1953); Oakland (1947-1953); San Francisco (1947-1953); Los Angeles (1948); Oakland (1948); San Francisco (1948).
The Second World War and its immediate wake meant an exodus to California of folks from all over the country looking for work in the powerful war industries -- and a place in the sunshiny California American Dream. Some of these immigrants were professional and semi-professional musicians, and they helped fuel California's newly emerging recording industry. But sunshine can give you the blues on occasion, apparently, and this two-disc, 53-track set from JSP Records collects rare and priceless examples of early West Coast blues cut between 1947 and 1953. Selected and annotated by Neil Slaven, it makes for a fascinating glimpse at a specific time, place, and sound. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 788065421922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.43/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)