Isaac Hayes Don't Let Go

Don't Let Go
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $15.79 Limited Time Only
List Price: $17.99
You Save: $2.20 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  QYS3
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Big Break


  • 1.Don't Let Go
  • 2.What Does It Take
  • 3.A Few More Kisses To Go
  • 4.Fever
  • 5.Someone Who Will Take The Place Of You
  • 6.You Can't Hold Your Woman
  • 7.Don't Let Go [12" Disco Version] - (remix)
  • 8.A Few More Kisses To Go [12" Long Version]
  • 9.Someone Will Take The Place Of You [Single Version]
  • 10.Don't Let Go [Single Version]
  • 11.A Few More Kisses To Go [Single Version]

Product Description:

Isaac Hayes' 1977-1982 stint on Polydor had him often doing strong work that differed from both his efforts at Enterprise and ABC. By the late '70s, Hayes had refined and updated his sound and stopped recording in Memphis. Although this album's predecessor, New Horizon, wasn't a big seller, it certainly helped him adapt to the changing musical landscape. In turn, Don't Let Go has Hayes even more confident and comfortable with his new sound. The title track has Roy Hamilton's jaunty classic all but unrecognizable with Hayes' propulsive and expert disco take. With pushy horns, cooing background girls, and his subdued vocal, he effortlessly attained disco's sense of fun. The song's insouciance seemed to rub off on the rest of this album. "What Does It Take" has Hayes steaming it up with help from a high-pitched bassline and a subtle buzzing guitar. On the best ballad here, the teasing "Few More Kisses to Go," Hayes plays the pathway to adulthood as waits for his "precious moment," singing "girl's gonna be a full-grown woman, before this night is through." The best tracks on this album have Hayes' infallible sense of melody, but there are a few duds. His disco version of "Fever" comes off a little desperate and pointless. The last track, "Someone Who Will Take the Place of You," is a good angry ballad, but clocking in at ten-and-a-half minutes, it's a little too much of a good thing. Don't Let Go is Hayes' most successful effort for Polydor. ~ Jason Elias

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Isaac Hayes

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929039421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)