Small Faces Small Faces [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)

Small Faces [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)
4 ratings
Price: $33.28
List Price: $36.98
You Save: $3.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  XDV5
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: May 7, 2012
  • Originally Released: 1967
  • Label: Sanctuary UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 12/02, pp.130-1
3 out of 5 - "...This is flower power at its earthiest..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.(Tell Me) Have You Ever Seen Me
  • 2.Something I Want To Tell You
  • 3.Feeling Lonely
  • 4.Happy Boys Happy
  • 5.Things Are Going To Get Better
  • 6.My Way of Giving
  • 7.Green Circles
  • 8.Become Like You
  • 9.Get Yourself Together
  • 10.All Our Yesterdays
  • 11.Talk To You
  • 12.Show Me The Way
  • 13.Up The Wooden Hills To Bedfordshire
  • 14.Eddie's Dreaming
  • 15.Here Come The Nice
  • 16.Itchycoo Park
  • 17.I'm Only Dreaming
  • 18.Tin Soldier
  • 19.I Feel Much Better
  • 20.(Tell Me) Have You Ever Seen Me (Alternate Mix)
  • 21.Eddie's Dreaming (Alternate Mix)
  • 22.Green Circles (Take 1 Alternate Mix 3)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.(Tell Me) Have You Ever Seen Me (Stereo Version)
  • 2.Something I Want To Tell You (Stereo Version)
  • 3.Feeling Lonely (Stereo Version)
  • 4.Happy Boys Happy (Stereo Version)
  • 5.Things Are Going To Get Better (Stereo Version)
  • 6.My Way of Giving (Stereo Version)
  • 7.Green Circles (Stereo Version)
  • 8.Become Like You (Stereo Version)
  • 9.Get Yourself Together (Stereo Version)
  • 10.All Our Yesterdays (Stereo Version)
  • 11.Talk To You (Stereo Version)
  • 12.Show Me The Way (Stereo Version)
  • 13.Up The Wooden Hills To Bedfordshire (Stereo Version)
  • 14.Eddie's Dreaming (Stereo Version)
  • 15.Just Passing
  • 16.Itchycoo Park (Stereo Version)
  • 17.Here Come The Nice (Stereo Version)
  • 18.Don't Burst My Bubble
  • 19.Things Are Going To Get Better (Alternate Version)
  • 20.I Can't Make It
  • 21.Green Circles (Alternate Take 2)
  • 22.Tin Soldier (Stereo Version)
  • 23.(If You Think You're) Groovy

Product Description:

The 1997 release of SMALL FACES contains 5 additional tracks not contained on the original release.
The Small Faces: Steve Marriott (vocals, guitar); Ian "Mac" McLagan (vocals, guitar, organ); Ronnie "Plonk" Lane (vocals, organ); Kenney Jones (drums).
Includes liner notes by John Reed and Tony Brainsby.
Digitally remastered by Jon Astley and Simon Heyworth.
Personnel: Steve Marriott (vocals, guitars, background vocals); Ian McLagan (vocals, piano, organ); Ronnie Lane (vocals, bass guitar); Kenney Jones (drums, percussion).
Audio Remasterer: Nick Robbins.
Liner Note Author: Mark Paytress.
Recording information: Olympic Studios.
Photographers: Rob Caiger; Stephen Bobroff.
Just when the first-generation British Invasion bands galloped ahead into pop art in 1966, the Small Faces worked a heavy R&B groove on their 1966 debut. That's not to say that this pack of four sharp-suited mods were unaware of the times. If anything, no other British band of the mid-'60s was so keenly tuned into fashion, the four Small Faces capturing the style and sound of dancing pilled-up mods better even than the Who, possibly because the group could carry a groove better than the Who, as this tightly propulsive debut amply illustrates. Like many '60s debuts, The Small Faces is split between covers, songs the label pushed on the band, and originals, some clearly interpolations of songs they'd been covering in clubs. "Come on Children" echoes James Brown's "Think," and "You Need Loving" is based on Willie Dixon's "You Need Love." Later, Led Zeppelin would rework the Small Faces' "You Need Loving" into "Whole Lotta Love," and while it's easy to hear how Steve Marriott's raw-throated howl influenced Robert Plant as much as Marriott's heavy shards of guitar influenced Jimmy Page, what's striking about The Small Faces is that there is very little blues or rock & roll here: it's all hard-charging, driving R&B and soul, the emphasis all on the groove. By stressing the beat, the Small Faces carry themselves over some slight songwriting -- the band's energetic interplay carries them over the rough spots between "It's Too Late," "What'Cha Gonna Do About It," and "Sha La La La Lee," and that concentration even pushes them into trailblazing territory, as on the lean, ominous pulse of "E Too D." Such moments keep The Small Faces sounding fearless and fresh even when by other respects it is very much a record of its time. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Small Faces

Product Info

  • UPC: 602527813455
  • Shipping Weight: 0.31/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)