Blind Blake All the Published Sides (5-CD Box Set)

All the Published Sides (5-CD Box Set)
7 ratings
Sale: $26.09
SUPER SAVINGS: $24.26 Limited Time Only
List Price: $28.99
You Save: $4.73 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  XDQ9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: August 11, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Dying Blues
  • 2.Ashley St. Blues
  • 3.Early Morning Blues
  • 4.West Coast Blues
  • 5.West Coast Blues
  • 6.West Coast Blues
  • 7.Early Morning Blues
  • 8.Early Morning Blues
  • 9.Too Tight
  • 10.Blake's Worried Blues
  • 11.Come on Boys Let's Do That Messin' Around
  • 12.Come on Boys Let's Do That Messin' Around
  • 13.Tampa Bound
  • 14.Skeedle Loo Doo Blues
  • 15.Skeedle Loo Doo Blues
  • 16.Stonewall Street Blues
  • 17.State Street Men Blues
  • 18.Down the Country
  • 19.Back Biting Bee Blues
  • 20.Wilson Dam
  • 21.Buck-Town Blues
  • 22.Black Dog Blues
  • 23.One Time Blues

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Bad Feelin' Blues
  • 2.Dry Bone Shuffle
  • 3.Dry Bone Shuffle
  • 4.Dry Bone Shuffle
  • 5.That Will Happen No More
  • 6.Brownskin Mama Blues - (take 1)
  • 7.Brownskin Mama Blues - (take 2)
  • 8.Hard Road Blues
  • 9.Hey Hey Daddy Blues
  • 10.Sea Board Stomp
  • 11.You Gonna Quit Me Blues
  • 12.Steel Mill Blues
  • 13.Southern Rag
  • 14.He's in the Jailhouse Now
  • 15.Wabash Rag
  • 16.Doggin' Me Mama Blues
  • 17.C C Pill Blues
  • 18.Hot Potatoes
  • 19.Southbound Rag
  • 20.Pay Day Daddy Blues
  • 21.Elzadie's Policy Blues

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Good-Bye Mama Moan
  • 2.Tootie Blues
  • 3.That Lovin' I Crave
  • 4.That Lonesome Rave
  • 5.Terrible Murder Blues
  • 6.Leavin' Gal Blues
  • 7.No Dough Blues
  • 8.Lead Hearted Blues
  • 9.Let Your Love Come Down
  • 10.Rumblin' and Ramblin' Boa Constrictor Blues
  • 11.Bootleg Rum Dum Blues
  • 12.Detroit Bound Blues
  • 13.Beulah Land
  • 14.Panther Squall Blues
  • 15.Elzadie's Policy Blues
  • 16.Pay Day Daddy Blues
  • 17.Walkin' Across the Country
  • 18.Search Warrant Blues
  • 19.Rambin' Mama Blues
  • 20.New Style of Loving
  • 21.Back Door Slam Blues
  • 22.Notoriety Woman Blues
  • 23.Cold Hearted Mama Blues
  • 24.Low Down Loving Gal
  • 25.Sweet Papa Low Down

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Poker Woman Blues
  • 2.Doing a Stretch
  • 3.Fightin' the Jug
  • 4.Hookworm Blues
  • 5.Slippery Rag
  • 6.Hastings St.
  • 7.Diddie Wah Diddie
  • 8.Diddie Wah Diddie
  • 9.Too Tight Blues No 2
  • 10.Chump Man Blues
  • 11.Ice Man Blues
  • 12.Police Dog Blues
  • 13.I Was Afraid of That Part 2
  • 14.Georgia Bound
  • 15.Keep It Home
  • 16.Keep It Home
  • 17.Sweet Jivin' Mama
  • 18.Lonesome Christmas Blues
  • 19.Third Degree Blues

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Guitar Chimes
  • 2.Blind Arthur's Breakdown
  • 3.Baby Lou Blues
  • 4.Cold Love Blues
  • 5.Papa Charlie and Blind Blake Talk About It Part 1
  • 6.Papa Charlie and Blind Blake Talk About It Part 2
  • 7.Stingaree Man Blues
  • 8.Itching Heel
  • 9.You've Got What I Want
  • 10.Cherry Hill Blues
  • 11.Diddie Wah Diddie No 2
  • 12.Hard Pushing Papa
  • 13.What a Low Down Place the Jailhouse Is
  • 14.Ain't Gonna Do That No More
  • 15.Playing Policy Blues
  • 16.Righteous Blues
  • 17.Fancy Tricks
  • 18.Rope Stretchin' Blues Part 2
  • 19.Rope Stretchin' Blues Part 1
  • 20.Rope Stretchin' Blues Part 1
  • 21.Champagne Charlie Is My Name
  • 22.Depression's Gone From Me Blues

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Blind Blake (vocals, guitar); Papa Charlie Jackson (vocals, banjo); Jimmy Bertrand (vocals, slide whistle, xylophone, woodblocks); Bertha Henderson (vocals); Johnny Dodds (clarinet); Tiny Parham (piano).
Recorded between 1926 & 1932.
Personnel: Blind Blake (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Papa Charlie Jackson (vocals, banjo); Jimmy Bertrand (vocals, slide whistle, xylophone, wood block); Elzadie Robinson, Irene Scruggs, Laura Rucker, Leola B. Wilson, Bertha Henderson (vocals); Gus Cannon (banjo); George "Bullet" Williams (harmonica); Nelson's Paramount Serenaders (kazoo); Johnny Dodds (clarinet); Alex Robinson, Althea Dickerson, Jimmy Blythe, Tiny Parham, Charlie Spand (piano).
Liner Note Author: Drew Kent.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (07/1926-06/1932); Grafton, WI (07/1926-06/1932).
Unknown Contributor Roles: Robert Johnson; Blind Lemon Jefferson.
As with many comprehensive pre-1940s blues sets, especially those devoted to artists who recorded on the old Paramount label, the five-CD All the Published Sides set is both a godsend and a study in frustration. Paramount wasn't known for its high-quality pressings when it was in business, and its bankruptcy in the early '30s and the destruction of its masters completed the picture, as far as sound quality. That said, this set is a modest improvement over Document Records' various Blind Blake CD issues of the late '80s, as well as being significantly cheaper; there's still plenty of noise on some of the tracks, and even the third version of "West Coast Blues" -- the best-sounding side on disc one -- contains some minor noise and slight distortion. This pattern is repeated throughout the 110 sides, very clean-sounding 78s juxtaposed with what must be the most abominable condition sources imaginable. Nowhere is this more frustrating than what ought to be a highlight of the entire set, "Papa Charlie and Blind Blake Talk About It, Pt. 1" and "Papa Charlie and Blind Blake Talk About It, Pt. 2," pairing the almost primordial bluesman Papa Charlie Jackson with Blake -- yet neither side is in good enough shape to yield more than the most minimally audible playing and vocals; it's just possible to make use of that material, and it is followed by two wonderfully clean-sounding sides featuring Blake and "Chocolate Brown" Irene Scruggs, on which every nuance of his playing can be heard, and then two more that are in wretched shape. Those wildly variable tracks, however, pale next to the dazzling displays of music dexterity that pour out of Blake's fingers and off of his guitar -- he may well have been one of the great virtuoso talents of the 20th century, as you're reminded constantly on these CDs -- and his nearly as impressive vocal skills. The annotation is reasonably thorough if a bit repetitive; there's just not that much known about Blake's life or career -- the producers do appreciate the significance of such matters as his momentary move toward gospel music on "Beulah Land," and provide plenty about his occasional sidemen and collaborators, but basically this set is a lot like his whole legacy, brimming over with talent supported by precious little information. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Blind Blake

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,382
  • UPC: 788065771423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.96/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)