Roy Ayers You Might Be Surprised

You Might Be Surprised
10% OFF
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  FTGR 284
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 15, 2012
  • Originally Released: 1985
  • Label: Funky Town Grooves


  • 1.Hot
  • 2.Programmed For Love
  • 3."Virgo"
  • 4.You Might Be Surprised
  • 5.Night Flyte
  • 6.Can I See You
  • 7.For You
  • 8.Slip N' Slide
  • 9.Programmed For Love [Extended Version]
  • 10.Slip N Slide [Single Version]
  • 11.Hot [12" Version]
  • 12.Programmed For Love [Edited Version]
  • 13.Hot [Dub Mix]
  • 14.Programmed For Love [Instrumental]

Product Description:

Audio Mixer: Julian Robertson.
Liner Note Author: Randy Mahon.
Recording information: All Star Sound Studio; Celestial Sounds, NY; Mediasound, NY.
When You Might Be Surprised came out in 1985, Roy Ayers wasn't having as many hits as he had enjoyed in the late '70s. The R&B landscape had changed a lot since the days of Vibrations (1976) and You Send Me (1978). Ayers knew that if he didn't want to be accused of sounding dated, he needed to appeal to the urban contemporary tastes of 1985, so on this album he manages to update his approach without being untrue to himself. The production (some of it by James Mtume, some of it by Ayers himself) is high-tech and hip-hop-influenced -- synthesizers and drum machines are prominent, and there are few horns and no strings. But Ayers still sounds distinctive on material that ranges from the clever single "Programmed for Love," and the funky "Can I See You," to the playful title song (a duet with singer Jean Carn). The opener "Hot" has some Prince/Jesse Johnson/Morris Day influence, but without obscuring Ayers' own identity. This time, there are a few likable, if unremarkable, jazz/R&B/pop instrumentals, which include "Night Flyte" and "Virgo" (a tune that employs Branford Marsalis on tenor sax). You Might Be Surprised isn't among Ayers' essential albums, but all things considered, it was a respectable addition to his catalogue. ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Roy Ayers

Product Info:

  • UPC: 851903003328
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item