Long John Baldry Live

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $16.98
Your Price: $15.28
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  SP 1268

CD Details

  • Released: November 28, 2000
  • Label: Stony Plain Music

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 3/01, p.76
"...Still going strong....the gravelly voiced Baldry oozes the irrepressible charm of an old world troubadour/rogue..."


  • 1.Good Morning Blues
  • 2.Whoa Back Buck
  • 3.Backwater Blues
  • 4.Morning Dew
  • 5.Black Girl
  • 6.It Ain't Easy
  • 7.Burn Down the Cornfield
  • 8.Moon Dance in Tajikistan
  • 9.Walk On
  • 10.Can't Keep From Cryin' Sometimes
  • 11.Maggie Bell
  • 12.Blue Valentine
  • 13.Midnight in New Orleans
  • 14.Flying

Product Description:

Personnel: Long John Baldry (vocals, 12-string guitar); Matt Taylor (guitar); Butch Coulter (harmonica).
Recorded live at DownTown Blues Club, Hamburg, Germany, September 21, 1999.
Personnel: Long John Baldry (vocals, 12-string guitar); Matt Taylor (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Butch Coulter (acoustic guitar, harmonica).
Audio Mixer: Butch Coulter.
Recording information: Downtown Blues Club, Hamburg, Germany (09/21/1999).
Arranger: Long John Baldry.
Brit blues legend Baldry recorded this live album during his 1999 European tour on a Hamburg stop. During the '60s blues resurgence, Baldry has musicians such as Charlie Watts, Rod Stewart, and Jack Bruce pass through his bands. His sound still echoes the tough, power blues that led to the development of such groups as Cream and Led Zeppelin. Baldry chooses to do much of his classic material while leading the group from his 12-string acoustic guitar. Long John is a potent, gravel-voiced blues man. His tough, exaggerated blues-rock is guaranteed to wow a crowd. Capturing this in a live setting makes for an excellent document of Long John's time-tested talent. An added bonus is a shining new star on the blues scene and new member to Baldry's trio, guitarist Matt Taylor. The liner notes include an overview of Baldry's entire career with photos going back to the '60s. ~ Tom Schulte

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Long John Baldry

Product Info:

  • UPC: 772532126823
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item